Fred Griffin Tallahassee Real Estate, Licensed Florida Real Estate Broker (Fred Griffin Real Estate)

Spam prevention
Rainmaker
508,208
Greg Large
ERA Real Solutions - Grove City, OH
A Tradition of Trust

1-3 ONLY, NEVER #4. but I cover rules of engagement before showing properties.

Dec 21, 2020 08:46 AM
Rainmaker
1,337,413
Ryan Huggins - Thousand Oaks, CA
https://HugginsHomes.com - Thousand Oaks, CA
Residential Real Estate and Investment Properties

1-3 are acceptable as they are part of the house.  #4 is not as a dresser is personal property.

Dec 21, 2020 08:49 AM
Rainmaker
595,292
Eve Alexander
Buyers Broker of Florida - Orlando, FL
Exclusively Representing ONLY Orlando Home Buyers

I do not have buyers rifling through dresser drawers...

I have however showed homes where:
1. There was a HUGE dish of gold rings on the master dresser...

2. There was an open jewelry box of a dozen rolex watches in the master walk in closet...

What are sellers thinking?  That their valuables are safe??

Eve

Dec 21, 2020 09:02 AM
Rainmaker
266,130
Raymond Henson, SRES, GRI
eXp Realty of California, Inc. (lic. #01878277) - Elk Grove, CA
Realtor

Yes, number four is a bridge too far.  Kudos to you for lettig her go.

Dec 21, 2020 08:50 AM
Rainmaker
939,079
Doug Dawes
Keller Williams Realty - Topsfield, MA - Georgetown, MA
Your Personal Realtor®

I say all but #4 as long as you close them after opening

Dec 21, 2020 09:06 AM
Ambassador
3,938,961
Debe Maxwell, CRS
www.iCharlotteHomes.com | The Maxwell House Group | RE/MAX Executive | (704) 491-3310 - Charlotte, NC
The right Charlotte REALTOR!

Oh, only 1, 2 & 3! I've never had a buyer look in anything that was personal property. That is just creepy!!

Dec 21, 2020 08:58 AM
Ambassador
3,167,300
Anna Banana Kruchten CRS CRB, Phoenix Broker
HomeSmart Real Estate BR030809000 - Phoenix, AZ
602-380-4886

Oh for goodness sakes, that is one nosy home buyer that is out of line.  At this point I ask all buyers to do their very best to just look, don't touch.  I know that's a bit over the top but we are trying our best to be mindful of keeping everyone safe.

Dec 21, 2020 09:30 AM
Rainmaker
6,166,717
Roy Kelley
Realty Group Referrals - Gaithersburg, MD

All but 4.

Dec 21, 2020 09:28 AM
Rainmaker
793,617
Olga Simoncelli
Veritas Prime, LLC dba Veritas Prime Real Estate - New Fairfield, CT
CONSULTANT, Real Estate Services & Risk Management

Dressers are completely inappropriate; the other three might be okay during an ispection perhaps, to check hinges and interior condition. One of my buyers once opened every possible item in an empty home and pestered the homeowner who was finishing packing to leave, only to declare later that she would not consider the property because she didn't even like the driveway... It was the last time I took her out to show houses.

Dec 21, 2020 09:23 AM
Rainmaker
500,283
Lynnea Miller
Bend Premier Real Estate - Bend, OR
Premier Real Estate Service in Central Oregon

1-3 are okay, but 4 is never okay.

Dec 21, 2020 09:17 AM
Ambassador
5,035,294
Bob Crane
Woodland Management Service / Woodland Real Estate, Keller Williams Fox Cities - Stevens Point, WI
Forestland Experts! 715-204-9671

Which of those are real estate?

 

Dec 21, 2020 11:11 PM
Ambassador
1,334,029
Susan Emo
Sotheby's International Realty Canada - Brokerage - Kingston, ON
Kingston and the 1000 Islands Area

None of the above during a pandemic - we're VERY strict with our hands off everything rules up here!

Dec 21, 2020 12:55 PM
Rainmaker
2,590,754
Richie Alan Naggar
people first...then business Ran Right Realty - Riverside, CA
agent & author

Buyers should examine everything having to do with buying...nothing else

Dec 21, 2020 10:09 AM
Rainmaker
730,508
Brenda Mayette
Miranda Real Estate Group, Inc. - Glenville, NY
Getting results w/ knowledge & know-how!

Buyers are instructed not to touch anything these days...  Only agents can.  4 is never acceptable unless the house is sold as furnished.  I always set the expectation:  if it doesn't convey at closing, we don't touch it.  

Dec 22, 2020 04:33 AM
Ambassador
3,000,062
Tammy Lankford,
Lane Realty Eatonton, GA Lake Sinclair, Milledgeville, 706-485-9668 - Eatonton, GA
Broker GA Lake Sinclair/Eatonton/Milledgeville

well honestly in my market it depends.  If a home is being sold furnished then #4 could actually happen and be okay.  You want to know the quality of furnishings that remain.  If it's not being sold furnished then stick with 1, 2 and 3.

Dec 21, 2020 02:45 PM
Rainmaker
1,662,173
Lyn Sims
RE/MAX Suburban - Schaumburg, IL
Schaumburg Real Estate

#4 is a big fat NO. No excuse for that at all. It would also depend what was in the drawer & how she was acting during the showing. 

Dec 21, 2020 12:51 PM
Rainer
293,371
Caroline Gerardo
Sun West Mortgage Corporation - Newport Beach, CA
C. G. Barbeau the Loan Lady nmls 324982

Buyer might want to know what shelving is in the pantry #2 is fine.

I feel opening closet and cabinets is intrusive and snoopy, but could be done by an inspector when in contract

# 4 is just wrong. 

Setting boundaries before showing: hands to self, do not open or check closed anything, children are a distraction on a showing - get a sitter.

I have stopped a child who sat at computer and started banging with fist on keyboard at an open house in the olden days before covid- "ding! time out!"

Dec 21, 2020 12:26 PM
Rainmaker
1,701,658
Kat Palmiotti
406-270-3667, kat@thehousekat.com, Broker, Blackstone Realty Group - brokered by eXp Realty - Kalispell, MT
The House Kat

#4 is a no-no. The rest are fine.

Dec 21, 2020 11:30 AM
Rainmaker
2,948,820
Kathleen Daniels, Probate & Trust Specialist
KD Realty - 408.972.1822 - San Jose, CA
Probate Real Estate

I have many stories to tell and most don't get told. I just shake my head - people are something else. Opening a dresser drawer is not acceptable.

Dec 21, 2020 10:22 AM
Rainmaker
5,175,980
Ron and Alexandra Seigel
Napa Consultants - Carpinteria, CA
Luxury Real Estate Branding, Marketing & Strategy

Fred,

4 is not acceptable.  A

Dec 21, 2020 09:51 AM
Rainmaker
849,900
Annette Lawrence , Palm Harbor, FL 727-420-4041
ReMax Realtec Group - Palm Harbor, FL
Making FLORIDA Real Estate EZ

Previewing!  That means does the property meet the essentials of space, layout, and grade of finishing.  During inspection they can probe and prode.
Today is a NO TOUCH showing environment.
The LISTING AGENT is responsible for ensuring the 'hidden' attributes of the home are shown. Hidden storage revealed, hidy rooms opened, incorporated features pointed out, signage to bring the rest such or construction above code in proper places.
NO TOUCH!

 

2022, MAY present a new reality. But why? I think the premise for 'NO TOUCH' remains valid, it is a PREVIEW.

Dec 22, 2020 05:37 AM
Rainmaker
3,853,117
Wayne Martin
Wayne M Martin - Chicago, IL
Real Estate Broker - Retired

Number 4 is a deal breaker. Time to part company. All else is fair play.

Dec 22, 2020 05:11 AM