Spam prevention
Rainmaker
677,138
Peter Mohylsky, The Beach is closed but I am open.
PrimeSouth Properties - Santa Rosa Beach, FL
I AM STILL OPEN FOR BUSINESS ALONG THE BEACH

Not really, but I do want to know them personally, at least a quick chat.  do they answer their phones at first try?

 

etc. etc

Feb 15, 2020 06:04 AM
Rainmaker
787,952
Candice A. Donofrio
Next Wave RE Investments LLC Bullhead City AZ Commercial RE Broker - Fort Mohave, AZ
928-201-4BHC (4242) call/text

Typically, I want to hear from someone else that I DO know that the agent will do a great job. I don't put all that much stock in online reviews, and production stats may not tell all either.
I would want to see that their website is decent. The client will want to check them out too!
If an agent I know says "I would use him in a heartbeat, in fact I have!" that is what I want to hear.

Feb 15, 2020 05:51 AM
Rainmaker
1,363,573
Wayne and Jean Marie Zuhl
Samsel & Associates - Clark, NJ
The Last Names You'll Ever Need in Real Estate

When I place an agent referral, I usually do so with someone I know personally or through my professional channels.

Feb 15, 2020 05:46 AM
Ambassador
3,612,761
Debe Maxwell, CRS
www.iCharlotteHomes.com | The Maxwell House Group | RE/MAX Executive | (704) 491-3310 - Charlotte, NC
The right Charlotte REALTOR!

Most often, I trust my peers with a recommendation if I don't already have a referral partner in the destination city. 

I do not put any stock in online reviews because I've seen too many agents post reviews that everyone KNOWS are false.

On a side note - I prefer to ask my clients going in, if we can share their contact information with new prospective clients. [I've never had anyone say no.] When you hand a referral agent your ACTUAL sales data/list with contact information for every single one of your past clients from the past year, that is powerful.

Feb 15, 2020 06:38 AM
Rainmaker
1,589,900
Lyn Sims
RE/MAX Suburban - Schaumburg, IL
Schaumburg Real Estate

Since I have been around here for awhile I would go to the area & see who I know or recognize. Then check website & possibly online reviews. 

No I don't verify production. I wouldn't bother.

Feb 15, 2020 06:48 AM
Rainmaker
443,664
Dan Pittsenbarger
Keller Williams Western Realty - Bellingham, WA
Improving Conditions

No, like others have indicated, I typically go through people I know. It's important to me to get a good match for my client than what their stats are.

Feb 15, 2020 06:11 AM
Rainmaker
3,372,517
Nina Hollander
Coldwell Banker Realty - Charlotte, NC
Your Charlotte/Ballantyne/Waxhaw/Fort Mill Realtor

I check websites. I don't verify production... I don't want anyone asking me about mine and it's like asking someone how much money they earn... not very polite. I can tell from website presence and a conversation with an agent what they are all about. As for on-line reviews... I take them with a grain of salt. It's like asking for references... will you provide a reference from someone who is happy with you?

Feb 15, 2020 06:10 AM
Rainmaker
3,551,653
Michael Jacobs
Pasadena, CA
Los Angeles Pasadena 818.516.4393

ActiveRain membership does have advantages and virtual networking has put me in contact with possible referral sources. Some have played the role of a second set of eyes/ears beyond my own impression.  The process is definitely collaborative combining many of the methods you mentioned. 

That said, some online reviews can be doctored or influenced unnaturally. 

Finding that ideal match depends on one's relationship with the person(s) being referred.  The right real estate match often relies on sixth sense/intuition gleaned from reading how they participate here(if applicable) or in a telephone conversation .   I don't recall using dollar production as a criteria but have looked for market knowledge as well as other factors.  

Feb 15, 2020 06:56 AM
Rainmaker
748,600
John Juarez
The Medford Real Estate Team - Fremont, CA
ePRO, SRES, GRI, PMN

I have not had occasion to place a referral for quite a while. I would call the local Keller Williams office and ask to speak to the Team Leader. I would ask the Team Leader for a recommendation. If that did not work out, I would do an internet search for an acceptable referral partner. I would have a conversation with that person before placing the referral.

Of course, I would search the AR membership roster, also.

Feb 15, 2020 06:51 AM
Ambassador
2,414,873
Fred Griffin Tallahassee Real Estate
Fred Griffin Real Estate - Tallahassee, FL
Licensed Florida Real Estate Broker

Website.

State license board for complaints, suspensions.

Personal phone call.

Feb 15, 2020 06:38 AM
Rainmaker
801,960
Annette Lawrence , Palm Harbor, FL 727-420-4041
ReMax Realtec Group - Palm Harbor, FL
Making FLORIDA Real Estate EZ

On-line reviews .... Oh yea, we all love those. Let's  let zDevil provide that information.

Check their website?  I don't know that creating a website or buying a website is reflective of agent ability to navigate the perils of real estate. I may reflect how much they are willing to spend on make a first impression...without effort.

Verify production?  Sally Sells billboard on US19 states she sells over 500 homes a year. What is not to like?

Referring a client involves doing one thing, and one thing only.

Feb 15, 2020 08:25 AM
Ambassador
3,136,320
Chris Ann Cleland
Long and Foster REALTORS®, Gainesville, VA - Bristow, VA
Associate Broker, Bristow, VA

If I can find someone here on Active Rain, I feel I will know more about how they do business....if they are posting about business, that is.

Otherwise, I hit Zillow and look at homes sold and reviews.

Feb 15, 2020 07:26 AM
Rainmaker
2,532,767
Richie Alan Naggar
people first...then business Ran Right Realty - Riverside, CA
agent & author

It is now the norm to investigate anyone for any reason and in professional circles failure to do so reflects poorly on the one who did not do so....

Feb 15, 2020 06:36 AM
Rainmaker
2,857,467
Kathleen Daniels
KD Realty - 408.972.1822 - San Jose, CA
San Jose Homes for Sale-Probate & Trust Specialist

All except one referral was made to someone I know and trust. The one that I did not know, found online, answered all the questions correctly and I was confident they were the right fit, but in the end, my clients were not happy with the agent, indicting "You spoiled us, Kathleen. She does not do have of what you did for us."

I do all the vetting possible. For the most part, with anAR Referral, I already believe they will take excellent care of referrals. 

Feb 15, 2020 08:41 AM
Rainmaker
970,850
Thomas J. Nelson, Realtor e-Pro, CRS, RCS-D, Vets
Big Block Realty 858.232.8722 - La Jolla, CA
& Host of Postcards From Success Podcast

No. Because I only place with agents I know.
Fortunately I know hundreds around the US and Canada after 21 years of networking and training with them.

Feb 15, 2020 08:26 AM
Rainmaker
1,287,242
Ryan Huggins - Thousand Oaks, CA
https://HugginsHomes.com - Thousand Oaks, CA
Residential Real Estate and Investment Properties

I generally don't refer to someone I don't know.  Either from interactions here or personal knowledge.  At the worst case, I'll get a recommendation of the same from someone I do know.  In that instance, I'll have a more in depth discussion with them beyond "this is what's up with my client/friend, can you help them."

Feb 15, 2020 08:23 AM
Ambassador
2,930,562
Tammy Lankford,
Lane Realty Eatonton, GA Lake Sinclair, Milledgeville, 706-485-9668 - Eatonton, GA
Broker GA Lake Sinclair/Eatonton/Milledgeville

that' is a "it depends" answer.  Depends on how well I know the agent or if I had to go on line to find one.  If I don't know anyone in the area then I do rely on reviews and check their website.  Hard to check production when you can't see in the MLS, but I do look at their solds on zillow.  Which reminds me I need to catch mine up.

Feb 15, 2020 12:15 PM
Ambassador
2,955,588
Anna Banana Kruchten Broker, CRB, CRS
HomeSmart International - Phoenix, AZ
602-380-4886

I refer out to people I know or have been referred to me as 'I'd use him/her in a heartbeat'. As for reviews, no I don't read reviews and production isn't what I'm looking for as often times it's misleading and/or just not complete. I want someome to take as good as care of my clients that I'm referring because they trust me and know that I know the business. Typically it will be an AR agent or a CRS agent.

Feb 15, 2020 10:26 AM
Ambassador
2,286,873
Wanda Kubat-Nerdin - Wanda Can!
Red Rock Real Estate - St. George, UT
So Utah Residential, Referral & Relocation REALTOR

I look at my national database of trusted sources and here for referrals. Numbers really do not mean much, in my opinion, especially on Z. According to that site, I have not sold anything...ever!

Feb 15, 2020 09:41 AM
Rainmaker
761,392
Olga Simoncelli
Veritas Prime, LLC dba Veritas Prime Real Estate - New Fairfield, CT
CONSULTANT, Real Estate Services & Risk Management

First, I look for proximity to the desired geographic area, then interview the person by phone to get a sense for how they might operate and how well they know their market. I also check AR, to see if there are any posts and if so, if they sound intelligent.

Feb 15, 2020 09:38 AM
Rainmaker
1,708,488
Bob "RealMan" Timm
Ward County Notary Services - Minot, ND
Owner of Ward Co. Notary Services, retired Realtor

#1 I look for their activity right here on AR. #2 I call them and have a good visit.

Feb 15, 2020 08:45 AM
Rainmaker
1,064,022
Sam Shueh
(408) 425-1601 - San Jose, CA
mba, cdpe, reopro, pe

# of transactions completed. Complaints. In some case background search.

Top agent, 1% self promoted top agent means nothing. Prove to me your license is in active status, no lawsuit, restriction.

Few people search an agent through their website anymore. In fact, top realtors don't bother maintain a website. Billboard, TV commercials, listing signs get the traffic. On referalls it is only through the word of mouth. On AR a few members blog more often than they have time to take a referral. 

 

Feb 15, 2020 08:43 AM
Ambassador
4,563,515
Bob Crane
Woodland Management Service / Woodland Real Estate, Keller Williams Fox Cities - Stevens Point, WI
Forestland Experts! 715-204-9671

Are any of those things ever reliable?

Feb 15, 2020 04:01 PM
Rainmaker
5,270,231
Barbara Todaro
RE/MAX Executive Realty - Franklin, MA
Marketing Agent for The Todaro Team

I would not refer to an agent unless I knew their workethic and their production by reading their posts.... I have referred to one agent here.... Lottie Kendall ... I gave her name to an agent from another office in another town who called me to ask if I knew of an agent in that area of California....  they loved Lottie ....all of them...

Feb 15, 2020 03:48 PM
Rainmaker
4,738,680
Ron and Alexandra Seigel
Napa Consultants - Carpinteria, CA
Luxury Real Estate Branding, Marketing & Strategy

I get on the phone and talk to them, yes I check their website, and no I don't really focus on online reviews...so much BS both positive and negative.  I think I am a good judge of character...A

Feb 15, 2020 02:09 PM
Rainmaker
499,191
Diana Dahlberg
1 Month Realty - Pleasant Prairie, WI
Real Estate in Kenosha, WI since 1994 262-308-3563

I have done referrals in a variety of ways.  Of late, I will only refer to an agent I have already worked with or got a high referral from someone I trusted. I do not use reviews nor check their website.

Feb 15, 2020 02:01 PM
Rainmaker
5,681,589
Roy Kelley
Realty Group Referrals - Gaithersburg, MD

I would usually look for Platimum Club agents at RE/MAX. That level requires commission income of $250,000 during the year. They know what they are doing and often have teams.

Feb 15, 2020 01:53 PM
Rainmaker
571,581
Tony Lewis
RE/MAX of Valencia (Hall of Fame) 30 year Valencia Resident - Valencia, CA
Summit Real Estate Santa Clarita & OC Laguna Nigel

I find the most prevalent company in the community and speak with the owner, broker or manager to create a rapport.  I discuss my client and ask them to find the best agent that can serve my client's needs.

Feb 15, 2020 10:03 AM
Rainmaker
3,348,704
Will Hamm
Hamm Homes - Aurora, CO
"Where There's a Will, There's a Way!"

Good Point, I do not but will now.

Feb 16, 2020 06:25 PM
Rainmaker
3,124,033
Scott Godzyk
Godzyk Real Estate Services - Manchester, NH
One of the Manchester NH's area Leading Agents

I first look for someone i know, then someone i heard of then may search out. I like reading their blog then giving them a call to get to know them. 

Feb 16, 2020 04:57 AM
Rainmaker
314,199
Buzz Mackintosh
Mackintosh REALTORS - Frederick, MD
“Experience, reliable, leadership”

Speaking with the relocation department of a quality firm usually identifies the agent who will be the best fit if I don't know an agent personally in the market place

Feb 16, 2020 03:37 AM