Byron K . Jones, List Today - Sold Tomorrow!

Spam prevention
Ambassador
3,326,210
Chris Ann Cleland
Long and Foster REALTORS®, Gainesville, VA - Bristow, VA
Associate Broker, Bristow, VA

ALWAYS.  To me, it's kind of like voting.  You don't have the right ot complain about the outcome if you didn't give any input.

Jun 27, 2018 09:01 AM
Rainmaker
903,867
Candice A. Donofrio
Next Wave RE Investments LLC Bullhead City AZ Commercial RE Broker - Fort Mohave, AZ
928-201-4BHC (4242) call/text

Yes I make myself the point of contact so that the appraiser has to have me let them in.
If they have a Supra Key, I may not be present but either way, I leave comps conspicuously on the kitchen table so that they can't be unseen. 😈

Jun 27, 2018 08:15 AM
Ambassador
3,082,181
Kathleen Daniels, Probate & Trust Specialist
KD Realty - 408.972.1822 - San Jose, CA
Probate Real Estate

I sure do.  I want to be there to answer any questions and to provide information that the appraiser would not know from just being in the home.  I offer my comps and share what I know about the comps.
I recently sent an appraiser a thank you card.  I thanked him for getting the appraisal done so quickly and for being a true professional.  He was so blown away by my thank you care he sent me an email thanking me!  He went on to say that most agents only $itch and complain about - that my thank you card was the first he had ever received. Appraisers are people too!  That one appraiser has since picked up three additional "orders" that came from my lending partner.  BUILD RELATIONSHIPS WITH APPRAISERS ... and be kind!

Jun 27, 2018 08:37 AM
Rainmaker
1,730,395
Lyn Sims
Schaumburg, IL
Schaumburg Real Estate Agent Retired

Yes I do & here's why - I want to see if that appraiser knows what they are doing! If they can't measure a room correctly - they are new. I do give them comps but whether they use them or not is another matter. If they don't & the house doesn't appraise - you've got great ammo against the appraisal.

I would totally question the use of a structural engineer. Obviously someone is telling you the house is falling down or cracking off somewhere. I've found that 90% of the time it's just the inspector CYA.

Jun 27, 2018 10:23 AM
Rainmaker
1,394,469
Ryan Huggins - Thousand Oaks, CA
https://HugginsHomes.com - Thousand Oaks, CA
Residential Real Estate and Investment Properties

YES!  It's my one and only chance to help the appraiser see the value in the home (aka to make sure it appraises).

Jun 27, 2018 09:15 AM
Ambassador
4,310,777
Debe Maxwell, CRS
www.iCharlotteHomes.com | The Maxwell House Group | RE/MAX Executive | (704) 491-3310 - Charlotte, NC
The right Charlotte REALTOR!

Yes, absolutely!  Because there's nothing worse than a deal being thwarted because of a low appraisal from an appraiser who lives 25 miles away and is totally unfamiliar with the product he or she is appraising!

Jun 27, 2018 09:00 AM
Rainmaker
612,066
Eve Alexander
Buyers Broker of Florida - Orlando, FL
Exclusively Representing ONLY Orlando Home Buyers

I do not go to appraisals, because as a Buyer Broker, it is not my job to make sure the property appraises.  If it dosen't appraise,  the seller is the one who has a problem, and they need to reduce the price.

It is never my fiduciary duty to RAISE the value, and make the buyer pay more.

However, if I was a listing agent who claims to represent the seller, then I would be there...it is the listing agents job to sell for the highest price.

Eve

Jun 27, 2018 10:32 AM
Rainmaker
5,650,962
Ron and Alexandra Seigel
Napa Consultants - Carpinteria, CA
Luxury Real Estate Branding, Marketing & Strategy

I agree with Chris Ann Cleland 

Jun 27, 2018 09:39 AM
Rainmaker
1,676,103
Mike Cooper, Broker VA,WV, MD
Cornerstone Business Group Inc - Winchester, VA
Your Neighborhood Real Estate Sales Pro

Not normally, but if I can I like to be there. 

Jun 27, 2018 09:28 AM
Ambassador
1,765,603
Carol Williams
Although I'm retired, I love sharing my knowledge and learning from other real estate industry professionals. - Wenatchee, WA
Retired Agent / Broker / Property Manager

Yes, when I was working I did.  

Jun 27, 2018 08:16 AM
Ambassador
4,608,048
Jeff Dowler, CRS
eXp Realty of California, Inc. - Carlsbad, CA
The Southern California Relocation Dude

Yes I do, to share information about the community (especially if appraiser is not familiar) and comps

Jun 27, 2018 10:32 AM
Rainmaker
998,389
Doug Dawes
Keller Williams Realty Evolution - Topsfield, MA - Georgetown, MA
Your Personal Realtor®

Yes, I do. I give the appraiser the comps I used and I like to be there to answer questions

Jun 27, 2018 09:28 AM
Rainmaker
893,747
Annette Lawrence , Palm Harbor, FL 727-420-4041
ReMax Realtec Group - Palm Harbor, FL
Making FLORIDA Real Estate EZ

...an Appraisal Inspection..hmmm.

The only situation I can apply that term to is the FHA appraisal inspection. 

Overwhelmingly the bank appraisal and the home home inspection are separate service provided by separate organizations.

Regardless of  the situation, I will ALWAYS be there to protect the interests of the one who hired me.  

Why? I want to present my clients with SOLUTIONS, not problems. Here are the comps you will need to ignore or show me what the fix looks like are part and parcel of proactively representing a client.

Jun 27, 2018 09:22 AM
Rainmaker
5,572,175
Barbara Todaro
RE/MAX Executive Realty - Retired - Franklin, MA
Previously Affiliated with The Todaro Team

yes....we want to make sure the appraiser has no questions and has all the information he needs...

Jun 27, 2018 01:41 PM
Rainmaker
6,675,948
Roy Kelley
Realty Group Referrals - Gaithersburg, MD

This is a good business practice.

Jun 27, 2018 11:56 AM
Rainmaker
4,179,520
Nina Hollander, Broker
Coldwell Banker Realty - Charlotte, NC
Your Greater Charlotte Realtor

I don't. I speak with the appraiser beforehand and provide whatever data might be useful at that point. I spoke with an agent not long ago who met an appraiser and maybe said 5 words to him initially and he reported her to the commission for trying to sway him. I met an appraiser once and gave her details on the property which had had a lot of work done to it that may not have been self-evident... she took those papers crumpled them up in her hand and shoved them into her bag like garbage.

Jun 27, 2018 10:45 AM
Rainmaker
4,092,624
Richard Weeks
Dallas, TX
REALTOR®, Broker

No

Jun 27, 2018 09:46 AM
Rainmaker
4,051,357
Will Hamm
Hamm Homes - Aurora, CO
"Where There's a Will, There's a Way!"

No, we are not in influence them 

Jun 27, 2018 09:42 AM
Rainmaker
1,525,355
Sybil Campbell
Fernandina Beach, FL
Referral Agent Amelia Island Florida

Usually. We are allowed to provide comps to appraisers in Virginia and they are not always from our local area.

Jun 27, 2018 09:38 AM
Rainmaker
4,799,601
Gabe Sanders
Real Estate of Florida specializing in Martin County Residential Homes, Condos and Land Sales - Stuart, FL
Stuart Florida Real Estate

Absolutely,  And I bring a list of comps and home improvements and upgrades to give to the appraiser.

Jun 28, 2018 05:59 AM
Rainmaker
767,364
Brenda Mayette
Miranda Real Estate Group, Inc. - Glenville, NY
Getting results w/ knowledge & know-how!

Most often yes; especially in this multiple offer market. 

Jun 28, 2018 04:54 AM
Rainmaker
564,402
Lynnea Miller
Bend Premier Real Estate - Bend, OR
Premier Real Estate Service in Central Oregon

We always go to these.  We share comps and justify the existing price. How else will the appraiser know there where multiple offers on the home and the seller accepted the price offered under an escalation clause?

Jun 27, 2018 09:56 PM
Ambassador
3,506,406
Margaret Rome Baltimore 410-530-2400
HomeRome Realty 410-530-2400 - Pikesville, MD
Sell Your Home With Margaret Rome

 

Always!  And here is why I  meet the appraiser.

Jun 27, 2018 09:48 PM
Ambassador
4,314,294
Praful Thakkar
LAER Realty Partners - Andover, MA
Andover, MA: Andover Luxury Homes For Sale

Byron K . Jones - most of the time, yes.

Jun 27, 2018 08:57 PM
Rainmaker
928,401
John Juarez
The Medford Real Estate Team - Fremont, CA
ePRO, SRES, GRI, PMN

Yes. I bring comps to make sure the appraiser sees numbers that work for our goal. Also, answere any questions, such as "How many offers were submitted?"

Jun 27, 2018 06:00 PM
Rainer
2,825
Joy Blodgett
loanDepot Inc. - Marysville, WA
Mortgage Lender Snohomish County

Hi Byron,

Yes,  I would recommend you go if you can. That way if the appraiser calls anything out on the home or has questions you are there to help answer any questions.  It normally takes an appraisers three or four days to get the appraisal back to the lender. The lender is then going to reach out to the buyers agent and then you. If conditions are called out you already know about them and can be working on them. Hope this helps- Joy Blodgett

Jun 27, 2018 05:04 PM
Rainmaker
1,959,645
Anthony Acosta - ALLATLANTACONDOS.COM
Harry Norman, REALTORS® - Atlanta, GA
Associate Broker

Only if I feel I need to provide information to the appraiser regarding comps.

Jun 27, 2018 04:12 PM
Rainer
180,215
Harjeet Bhatti
FITH THIRD BANK - Chicago, IL
Home Mortgage Consultant 25 States

 Listing Agent know their property.  That will help if Listing Agent will be present at the appraisal time. 

Jun 27, 2018 01:15 PM
Rainmaker
70,634
Ricardo Mello
Manhattan Miami Real Estate - Manhattan, NY
Manhattan & Miami Real Estate Agent

Yes

Jun 27, 2018 12:26 PM
Rainmaker
4,141,248
Michael Jacobs
Pasadena, CA
Los Angeles Pasadena 818.516.4393

Yes as the representative of the seller.

Jun 27, 2018 12:03 PM
Rainmaker
2,648,743
Richie Alan Naggar
people first...then business Ran Right Realty - Riverside, CA
agent & author

I attend to further my education and to remain hands-on to my clients

Jun 27, 2018 10:49 AM
Ambassador
3,986,760
Debbie Reynolds, C21 Platinum Properties
Platinum Properties- (931)771-9070 - Clarksville, TN
The Dedicated Clarksville TN Realtor-(931)320-6730

Occupied homes yes I go. Unoccupied it depends if I feel I need to share comps or be there for moral support. 

Jul 01, 2018 02:09 PM
Rainmaker
4,433,753
Gita Bantwal
RE/MAX Centre Realtors - Warwick, PA
REALTOR,ABR,CRS,SRES,GRI - Bucks County & Philadel

Yes.

Jul 01, 2018 08:27 AM
Rainmaker
4,998,687
Joan Cox
House to Home, Inc. - Denver Real Estate - 720-231-6373 - Denver, CO
Denver Real Estate - Selling One Home at a Time

Absolutely, the seller hired us to support the sales price.  I come totally prepared with everything they may need.

Jun 30, 2018 06:59 AM
Rainmaker
3,985,922
William Feela
WHISPERING PINES REALTY - North Branch, MN
Realtor, Whispering Pines Realty 651-674-5999 No.

I alwys do as I can learn a lot for future business

Jun 28, 2018 10:19 PM
Rainmaker
653,162
Tony Lewis
Summit Real Estate Group - Valencia, CA
Summit Real Estate Group Valencia & Aliso Viejo

Appraisal yes absolutely.  Getting the right comps is one of the most important jobs a listing agent performs on behalf of their client.  Home Inspection absolutely not.  This it a time for the buyer to be able to discuss in private the conditions of the property without interference.  Being their only creates conflict and doubt in the buyer's minds and hearts.

Jun 28, 2018 01:25 PM
Ambassador
953,872
Frank Rubi
Frank Rubi Real Estate, LLC - Metairie, LA
FrankRubiRealEstate.com

as a listing agent, I attend all my listing appraisals. 

Jun 28, 2018 10:04 AM
Rainmaker
3,070,134
Tony and Suzanne Marriott, Associate Brokers
Serving the Greater Phoenix and Scottsdale Metropolitan Area - Scottsdale, AZ
Haven Express @ Keller Williams Arizona Realty

It is considered a BVO critical appointment

Jun 28, 2018 05:53 AM
Rainmaker
4,268,122
Wayne Martin
Wayne M Martin - Chicago, IL
Real Estate Broker - Retired

When I was active, I did not go! 

Jun 27, 2018 05:03 PM
Rainmaker
1,707,423
Joe Pryor
The Virtual Real Estate Team - Oklahoma City, OK
REALTOR® - Oklahoma Investment Properties

I did in the short sale days but with new homes for investors it is not necessary.

Jun 27, 2018 04:04 PM
Ambassador
2,576,857
Fred Griffin Florida Real Estate
Fred Griffin Real Estate - Tallahassee, FL
Licensed Florida Real Estate Broker

  I do not attend Appraisals.  I do attend Home Inspections.

Jun 27, 2018 03:48 PM
Ambassador
5,464,087
Bob Crane
Woodland Management Service / Woodland Real Estate, EXP - Stevens Point, WI
Forestland Experts! 715-204-9671

Depends on the situation.

Jun 27, 2018 03:03 PM