Praful Thakkar, Andover, MA: Andover Luxury Homes For Sale (LAER Realty Partners)

Spam prevention
Ambassador
4,694,461
Debe Maxwell, CRS
www.iCharlotteHomes.com | The Maxwell House Group | RE/MAX Executive | (704) 491-3310 - Charlotte, NC
The right Charlotte REALTOR!

I have my buyers request that in the Contract, Praful. The sellers need to have it prepped & for inspections. 

Apr 30, 2018 08:42 PM
Rainmaker
516,974
Dan Tabit
Keller Williams Bellevue - Sammamish, WA

If it's bank owned, the buyer. If it's privately owned, I would think the seller would want to cooperate with the contractual requirements of the inspection addendum, but I haven't seen that contract. 

 

Apr 30, 2018 11:30 PM
Rainmaker
4,024,099
Endre Barath, Jr.
Berkshire Hathaway HomeServices - Beverly Hills, CA
Realtor - Los Angeles Home Sales 310.486.1002

the seller is responsible to provide access to the entire house and surroundings until the buyer removes their contingencies within the agreed time...

Apr 30, 2018 10:36 PM
Ambassador
3,987,310
Debbie Reynolds, C21 Platinum Properties
Platinum Properties- (931)771-9070 - Clarksville, TN
The Dedicated Clarksville TN Realtor-(931)320-6730

According to our contracts it is the seller.

Apr 30, 2018 08:48 PM
Ambassador
5,901,912
Bob Crane
Woodland Management Service / Woodland Real Estate, KW Diversified - Stevens Point, WI
Forestland Experts! 715-204-9671

I am sure the ice will be melting in a few months, will let you know then.

Apr 30, 2018 08:40 PM
Ambassador
3,374,908
Chris Ann Cleland
Long and Foster Real Estate - Gainesville, VA
Associate Broker, Bristow, VA

I would hope that whoever wrote the offer had the foresight to write that particular term in with the pool inspection so there was no confusion.  And if the buyer's agent didn't, that the listing agent countered with specifics.

May 01, 2018 07:36 AM
Rainmaker
2,149,376
Bob "RealMan" Timm
Ward County Notary Services - Minot, ND
Owner of Ward Co Notary Services retired RE Broker

I agree with Kenneth J. "Ken" Jones, Associate Broker . I see to much liability here for me or any other agent to take on here. Consider this scenario, you as an agent open the pool and close it after the inspection. A neighbor kid scales the fence to sneak in for a swim and drowns. Can you PROVE you locked things up when the inspection was over. Do you think for a minute you wouldn't be named in a law suit over the kids death?

May 01, 2018 06:41 AM
Rainmaker
2,210,524
Anthony Acosta - ALLATLANTACONDOS.COM
Harry Norman, REALTORS® - Atlanta, GA
Associate Broker

Seller is responsible 

May 01, 2018 04:50 AM
Rainmaker
563,928
Maria Sapio
Keller Williams of Central PA - Carlisle, PA
Real Estate Agent- Carlisle, PA. Mariasapio.com

Seller - but just to assure no issues arise, I would clearly write that into the contract.

May 01, 2018 04:17 AM
Rainmaker
539,386
Greg Cremia
Shore Realty of the Outer Banks - Nags Head, NC

Seller opens it and buyer pays to close it back up if necessary

May 01, 2018 03:27 AM
Rainmaker
2,156,452
Andrew Mooers | 207.532.6573
MOOERS REALTY - Houlton, ME
Northern Maine Real Estate-Aroostook County Broker

What does the contract say about pool opening? What did buyer and seller agree to and is it a bank requirement in underwriting the pool is ready to swan dive into before closing? We have more lake camps than backyard pools in Maine Praful Thakkar .

May 01, 2018 03:00 AM
Ambassador
2,160,714
Kat Palmiotti
406-270-3667, kat@thehousekat.com, Broker/REALTOR® - Kalispell, MT
Helping your Montana dreams take root

I've never had a swimming pool inspection, so I don't know for sure. About six or seven months a year, it's too cold to open the pool here (if there is one). So, as with an air conditioning system, it can't be inspected. The rest of the time, I'd guess the seller should make sure it's in "ready" condition just in case it needs to be inspected.

May 01, 2018 02:21 AM
Rainmaker
1,577,417
Inna Ivchenko
Barcode Properties - Encino, CA
Realtor® • GRI • HAFA • PSC Calabasas CA

Seller, or someone per his/her request.

Apr 30, 2018 11:55 PM
Rainer
87,920
Jeff Perlis Prime Properties
Prime Properties - Lake Arrowhead, CA
Experience Your Own Transformation!

Seller.

Apr 30, 2018 11:54 PM
Ambassador
3,188,503
Kathleen Daniels, Probate & Trust Specialist
KD Realty - 408.972.1822 - San Jose, CA
Probate Real Estate

It would be best, in my professional opinion, that those matters get addressed in the contract before they are presented and accepted by the seller. 

May 01, 2018 08:14 AM
Rainmaker
965,758
Candice A. Donofrio
Next Wave RE Investments LLC Bullhead City AZ Commercial RE Broker - Fort Mohave, AZ
928-201-4BHC (4242) call/text

Whoever the contract provides for.
If I was the buyer's agent, I would definitely make sure that the seller was named as responsible.

May 01, 2018 07:25 AM
Rainmaker
712,619
Richard Bazinet /MBA, CRS, ABR
West USA Realty - Scottsdale, AZ
Phoenix Scottsdale. Sellers, Buyers & Relocations

The seller of course. Living in Arizona, I never thought of that... what if the pool is winterized and frozen.... good question.

May 01, 2018 07:13 AM
Ambassador
2,622,849
Fred Griffin Florida Real Estate
Fred Griffin Real Estate - Tallahassee, FL
Licensed Florida Real Estate Broker

  What does the contract say?   Our standard forms put it on the Seller.

May 01, 2018 06:38 AM
Rainmaker
3,403,416
Scott Godzyk
Godzyk Real Estate Services - Manchester, NH
One of the Manchester NH's area Leading Agents

Here in NH it is similar from the end of May to September. Usually it depends what it is in the contract. Many times when the pool is not open, the buyer pays to prepare a closed pool to be inspected and pays to close it again. I do have some buyers that ask teh seller to open ad close though too.  

May 01, 2018 05:28 AM
Rainmaker
720,923
Peter Testa
Nationwide Homes - Danbury, CT
PETER TESTA

It's customary for the Seller to open the pool for inspections. On short sales & foreclosures we ask the buyer to bring in a professional pool company if they want to inspect the pool. 

May 01, 2018 05:04 AM
Rainmaker
577,350
Gloria Valvasori, Accredited Senior Agent
BETTER HOMES AND GARDENS REAL ESTATE SIGNATURE SERVICE - Mississauga, ON
REAL Experience | REAL Commitment | REAL Results!

It depends on when the home is being sold.  If  in the middle of winter the buyer's agent inserts a clause in the offer and gives the Seller until say June 14th to open and inspect the pool by a professional pool company. If pool company finds anything wrong with the pool, or the liner, or the pump, etc., it is the Seller's responsibility to repair it.

May 01, 2018 04:42 AM
Rainmaker
804,937
Brenda Mayette
Miranda Real Estate Group, Inc. - Glenville, NY
Getting results w/ knowledge & know-how!

Pools and contracts in the northeast.... ugh!  I'd say the seller is responsible but it's funny how often the sellers quickly step away from their pool & become disinterested the minute they're under contract.  In our area, we need to negotiate this all up front, make sure attorneys effectively address it in their approval process, & consider holding funds back depending on the time of year.  

May 01, 2018 04:33 AM
Rainmaker
4,351,440
Michael Jacobs
Pasadena, CA
Los Angeles Pasadena 818.516.4393

check the purchase contract for responsibiility/  I'm in Southern California and our pools are typically open year-round.  

May 01, 2018 04:25 AM
Rainmaker
4,657,250
Nina Hollander, Broker
Coldwell Banker Realty - Charlotte, NC
Your Greater Charlotte Realtor

Up to seller to make the pool available for inspection; up to buyer to do a pool inspection and pay for it.

May 01, 2018 04:17 AM
Rainmaker
259,217
Lesley Wilson-VanGoethem
Innovative Realty Solutions Group - Winter Springs, FL
Residential Real Estate Broker Associate

Sorry, no help here. In Florida they are year round..
I know they muxt be clear, and operational for lender requirements , but that be different in a seasonal area.

 

May 01, 2018 03:59 AM
Ambassador
3,102,494
Tammy Lankford,
Lane Realty Eatonton, GA Lake Sinclair, Milledgeville, 706-485-9668 - Eatonton, GA
Broker GA Lake Sinclair/Eatonton/Milledgeville

in Georgia unless otherwise specified the seller is responsible.  However in winter sellers sometimes counter that the buyer is responsible for "re-winterizing" pump post inspection if there will be more freezing weather prior to close.  Pools are rare in our market though, so it's not a common thing to happen.

May 01, 2018 03:55 PM
Rainmaker
1,448,682
Ryan Huggins - Thousand Oaks, CA
https://HugginsHomes.com - Thousand Oaks, CA
Residential Real Estate and Investment Properties

I would assume the seller... but our pools are open year round out here.

May 01, 2018 02:38 PM
Rainer
365,458
Caroline Gerardo
Licensed in 20 states - Newport Beach, CA
C. G. Barbeau the Loan Lady nmls 324982

"Opening the outdoor swimming pool" you make it sound as if is a community pool, which then the contract should be written that seller is responsible to arrange this. If it's snowing and frozen well how can they test the equipment? If no access is granted I would think this is a red flag that the pump is non-operational and other things need repair 

May 01, 2018 01:31 PM
Rainmaker
5,581,678
Barbara Todaro
RE/MAX Executive Realty - Happily Retired - Franklin, MA
Previously Affiliated with The Todaro Team

the seller ....it's his pool....the home inspection must have every facet of the property available for inspection....

May 01, 2018 09:23 AM
Rainmaker
591,453
Greg Large
ERA Real Solutions - Grove City, OH
A Tradition of Trust

should be specified in the contract, here the contract specifies the Seller.

May 01, 2018 07:53 AM
Rainmaker
4,433,859
Gita Bantwal
RE/MAX Centre Realtors - Warwick, PA
REALTOR,ABR,CRS,SRES,GRI - Bucks County & Philadel

Must be in the contract hopefully

May 01, 2018 06:58 AM
Rainmaker
2,710,322
Richie Alan Naggar
people first...then business Ran Right Realty - Riverside, CA
agent & author

Whoever has the most to gain....

May 01, 2018 06:49 AM
Rainmaker
5,770,272
Ron and Alexandra Seigel
Napa Consultants - Carpinteria, CA
Luxury Real Estate Branding, Marketing & Strategy

Praful,

Debe Maxwell, CRS gave you a good answer. A

May 01, 2018 06:45 AM
Rainmaker
3,071,034
Tony and Suzanne Marriott, Associate Brokers
Serving the Greater Phoenix and Scottsdale Metropolitan Area - Scottsdale, AZ
Haven Express @ Keller Williams Arizona Realty

Seller

May 01, 2018 06:23 AM
Rainmaker
7,224,975
Roy Kelley
Retired - Gaithersburg, MD

Follow the terms of the contract.

The wording should require the sellers to have the pool ready for an inspection.

May 01, 2018 06:16 AM
Rainmaker
4,799,763
Gabe Sanders
Real Estate of Florida specializing in Martin County Residential Homes, Condos and Land Sales - Stuart, FL
Stuart Florida Real Estate

It probably should be the seller.

May 01, 2018 05:31 AM
Rainmaker
4,713,494
Wayne Martin
Wayne M Martin - Chicago, IL
Real Estate Broker - Retired

Usually the seller and it is a contract requirement.

May 01, 2018 05:11 AM
Rainmaker
4,475,398
Richard Weeks
Dallas, TX
REALTOR®, Broker

Go by what the contract says.

May 01, 2018 05:05 AM
Rainmaker
1,393,551
Thomas J. Nelson, REALTOR ® e-Pro CRS RCS-D Vets
Big Block Realty 858.232.8722 - La Jolla, CA
& Host of Postcards From Success Podcast

Open as in public pool? No inspection.

Private pool would not need "opening" would it? I'm a CA man, not sure what you frozen folks do out there with you winter pools, but seller must provide access.

May 01, 2018 04:51 AM
Rainmaker
1,525,405
Sybil Campbell
Fernandina Beach, FL
Referral Agent Amelia Island Florida

I believe in most cases it would be the seller's responsibility.

May 29, 2018 08:05 AM
Rainmaker
4,482,625
Will Hamm
Hamm Homes - Aurora, CO
"Where There's a Will, There's a Way!"

Good question, not sure.

 

May 06, 2018 12:37 PM
Rainmaker
5,481,278
Joan Cox
House to Home, Inc. - Denver Real Estate - 720-231-6373 - Denver, CO
Denver Real Estate - Selling One Home at a Time

We do not see many pools around Denver, too short of a season.

May 04, 2018 06:05 AM
Rainmaker
861,242
Olga Simoncelli
Veritas Prime, LLC dba Veritas Prime Real Estate - New Fairfield, CT
CONSULTANT, Real Estate Services & Risk Management

It is still the seller's property. If cannot be opened in winter, can leave some amount of money in escrow until inpection can be performed, in case there are issues.

May 02, 2018 09:37 AM
Rainmaker
955,823
Jennifer Mackay
Counts Real Estate Group, Inc. - Panama City, FL
Your Bay County Florida Realtor 850.774.6582

IMO it's always the seller unless it's an REO or other odd ball sale

May 02, 2018 05:15 AM
Rainmaker
3,986,050
William Feela
WHISPERING PINES REALTY - North Branch, MN
Realtor, Whispering Pines Realty 651-674-5999 No.

Seller is.  If it is a problem maybe they should have waited until he pool was ready to be open before trying to sell

May 01, 2018 05:19 PM