Praful Thakkar, Andover, MA: Andover Luxury Homes For Sale (LAER Realty Partners)

Spam prevention
Ambassador
2,120,789
Kat Palmiotti
406-270-3667, kat@thehousekat.com, Broker/REALTOR® - Kalispell, MT
Helping your Montana dreams take root

It's very rare in my business. The few times it has happened has been with investment properties.

Even if sellers won't make repairs, it's important for buyers to know exactly what they are buying, warts and all. 

Apr 06, 2018 02:46 AM
Rainmaker
4,309,277
Michael Jacobs
Pasadena, CA
Los Angeles Pasadena 818.516.4393

I've seen it "rarely" -- usually when the seller has an inspection report completed prior to placing the property on the market for example. 

Apr 05, 2018 10:27 PM
Rainmaker
1,440,081
Ryan Huggins - Thousand Oaks, CA
https://HugginsHomes.com - Thousand Oaks, CA
Residential Real Estate and Investment Properties

Yes.  I've seen these.  Rare, but they do happen.

Apr 05, 2018 09:51 PM
Ambassador
5,832,691
Bob Crane
Woodland Management Service / Woodland Real Estate, KW Diversified - Stevens Point, WI
Forestland Experts! 715-204-9671

Not likely that the seller is going to make any repairs in a tight market.

Apr 05, 2018 09:49 PM
Ambassador
4,032,829
Paul S. Henderson, REALTOR®, CRS
Fathom Realty Washington LLC - Tacoma, WA
South Puget Sound Washington Agent/Broker!

Hardly ever but I did have a client last summer who waived every thing to get the house..

Apr 05, 2018 09:35 PM
Rainmaker
1,191,544
Sam Shueh
(408) 425-1601 - San Jose, CA
mba, cdpe, reopro, pe

100% have no inspection contingiency, after viewing the property.

No appraisal contigiency.

30 day free rent back.  

21 day COE with a mortgage if it takes longer buyer is paying $100 late fee per day.

Apr 05, 2018 09:28 PM
Rainmaker
612,806
Eve Alexander
Buyers Broker of Florida - Tampa, FL
Exclusively Representing ONLY Tampa Home Buyers

NEVER...at least not my buyers.  That is crazy.

I have smart buyers who understand that if they don't "win the bid" there is ALWAYS ANOTHER HOUSE TO BUY...

Eve

 

Apr 06, 2018 04:53 AM
Rainmaker
3,985,083
Endre Barath, Jr.
Berkshire Hathaway HomeServices - Beverly Hills, CA
Realtor - Los Angeles Home Sales 310.486.1002

Not only do I see it but we miss out because of it.... all cash, ten day Close of Escrow...

Apr 05, 2018 10:51 PM
Ambassador
3,987,060
Debbie Reynolds, C21 Platinum Properties
Platinum Properties- (931)771-9070 - Clarksville, TN
The Dedicated Clarksville TN Realtor-(931)320-6730

About 1 in 10 do and some of my home investors/contractors do their own.

Apr 06, 2018 08:21 PM
Ambassador
2,613,813
Fred Griffin Florida Real Estate
Fred Griffin Real Estate - Tallahassee, FL
Licensed Florida Real Estate Broker

 Only on hammered foreclosures and tear-downs.

Apr 06, 2018 05:15 PM
Rainmaker
874,738
Jeff Pearl
RE/MAX Distinctive / LIC in VA - Lovettsville, VA
Full Service Full Time Realtor

I see them. It's more common with a buyer that is a contractor or builder, and knows they are going to gut and do a complete remodel anyway.

Apr 06, 2018 03:42 PM
Rainmaker
3,394,228
Scott Godzyk
Godzyk Real Estate Services - Manchester, NH
One of the Manchester NH's area Leading Agents

It actuallyhappens often, some inspect before they make an offer, others bring a professional with them. Some take a chance

Apr 06, 2018 07:27 AM
Rainmaker
5,581,578
Barbara Todaro
RE/MAX Executive Realty - Happily Retired - Franklin, MA
Previously Affiliated with The Todaro Team

rarely.... but there are those who state the inspection is for their own information and it's not a contingency ....

Apr 06, 2018 07:24 AM
Ambassador
2,119,009
Silvia Dukes PA, Broker Associate, CRS, CIPS, SRES
Tropic Shores Realty - Ich spreche Deutsch! - Spring Hill, FL
Florida Waterfront and Country Club Living

Not very often with residential sales unless it's a total fixer upper that's bought by a contractor. 

Apr 06, 2018 06:51 AM
Rainmaker
712,144
Richard Bazinet /MBA, CRS, ABR
West USA Realty - Scottsdale, AZ
Phoenix Scottsdale. Sellers, Buyers & Relocations

Rarely. But I do, it's usually for condos, where there is little to inspect other than the interior.

Apr 06, 2018 06:36 AM
Rainmaker
716,350
Peter Testa
Nationwide Homes - Danbury, CT
PETER TESTA

I don't see it happen much, even when the property is As Is they usually reserve to right to inspect it. When it is waived it's usually because the buyer is a Contractor & can conduct his own visual of the property. 

Apr 06, 2018 05:16 AM
Rainmaker
577,350
Gloria Valvasori, Accredited Senior Agent
BETTER HOMES AND GARDENS REAL ESTATE SIGNATURE SERVICE - Mississauga, ON
REAL Experience | REAL Commitment | REAL Results!

It depends, if it a multiple offer sitaution they may be inclined to if they really want the house, but I advise against it and let them know it is their decision,  and have them sign a disclosure to thie effect.  Usually, most buyers proceed with the inspection, even in newer homes.  

Apr 06, 2018 05:11 AM
Rainmaker
4,639,401
Wayne Martin
Wayne M Martin - Chicago, IL
Real Estate Broker - Retired

Less and less thank goodness!

Apr 06, 2018 04:51 AM
Rainer
140,510
Richard L. McKinney P.A.
Atlantic Shores Realty Expertise - Port St Lucie, FL
For Results that MOVE you on the Treasure Coast!

Not often. But when they do I have them sign a waiver. 

Apr 06, 2018 04:49 AM
Rainmaker
1,373,819
Thomas J. Nelson, REALTOR ® e-Pro CRS RCS-D Vets
Big Block Realty 858.232.8722 - La Jolla, CA
& Host of Postcards From Success Podcast

Mine: Never, unless they are an investor and sign my "acting against agent advice waiver".

On my listings: investors do all the time.

Apr 06, 2018 04:40 AM
Rainmaker
797,488
Brenda Mayette
Miranda Real Estate Group, Inc. - Glenville, NY
Getting results w/ knowledge & know-how!

It definitely is becoming common in multiple offer situations especially if the home is newer (which I realize doesn't shield it from issues).  Not something I typically encourage. 

Apr 06, 2018 04:32 AM
Rainmaker
563,728
Maria Sapio
Keller Williams of Central PA - Carlisle, PA
Real Estate Agent- Carlisle, PA. Mariasapio.com

Very, very rarely - 

Apr 06, 2018 04:01 AM
Rainmaker
4,578,398
Nina Hollander, Broker
Coldwell Banker Realty - Charlotte, NC
Your Greater Charlotte Realtor

Never, yet. 

Apr 06, 2018 03:39 AM
Rainmaker
2,144,700
Andrew Mooers | 207.532.6573
MOOERS REALTY - Houlton, ME
Northern Maine Real Estate-Aroostook County Broker

Building inspections not common regardless of multiple buyers or not in our small rural market.

Apr 06, 2018 03:38 AM
Ambassador
4,630,174
Debe Maxwell, CRS
www.iCharlotteHomes.com | The Maxwell House Group | RE/MAX Executive | (704) 491-3310 - Charlotte, NC
The right Charlotte REALTOR!

I've got one under Contract right now with that contingency. It happens about 10% of the time now - primarily because of the multiple Offer situations we face every day. 

However, that doesn't stop us from having detailed inspections performed though.

Apr 05, 2018 09:57 PM
Rainmaker
5,405,995
Joan Cox
House to Home, Inc. - Denver Real Estate - 720-231-6373 - Denver, CO
Denver Real Estate - Selling One Home at a Time

We have seen a very strong Seller's market for the past five years, and RARELY do we see an inspection is waived.  More often we see the appraisal contingency is waived, and if value comes in low, buyer will make up the difference.

Apr 09, 2018 04:52 PM
Rainer
154,811
Anthony Kirlew
Group 46:10 Network @ eXp Realty - Gilbert, AZ
Helping You Make Fiscally Sound Real Estate Deals!

I know that when the markets get hot and competitive, that is one of the first things to go. I did it years ago when buying a property in the hot DC Metro market and it worked out for me (as in, no major issues with the property).

Apr 08, 2018 07:25 AM
Rainmaker
1,056,118
John Juarez
The Medford Real Estate Team - Fremont, CA
ePRO, SRES, GRI, PMN

As you have stated: Praful Thakkar, :n a multiple offers scenario, to make their offers stronger, many buyers waive the home inspection contingencies."

I just got a buyer into excrow and one of the stipulatons was "as is" with no inspection contingency.

Sellers in our market often have inspections done and provide them as disclosures. This helps buyers to make a better educated decision when writing their offer. 

Apr 07, 2018 10:43 AM
Rainer
369,970
Jay McHugh
SendOutCards-Appreciation Marketing Expert - Acton, MA
YOUR SendOutCard Mentor

Often when working with me .... my strategy works well. For them....

Apr 07, 2018 06:15 AM
Rainmaker
1,708,245
Joe Pryor
The Virtual Real Estate Team - Oklahoma City, OK
REALTOR® - Oklahoma Investment Properties

one zillionth of 1 percent.

Apr 06, 2018 04:39 PM
Rainmaker
3,986,000
William Feela
WHISPERING PINES REALTY - North Branch, MN
Realtor, Whispering Pines Realty 651-674-5999 No.

At least 1/2 the tme and  have them sign a document saying they waive the inspection.  CMA!

 

Seems Minnesota nice includes relatives that are smarter than us agents.

Apr 06, 2018 09:26 AM
Rainer
365,464
J.R. Schloemer, CRS
Kentucky Select Properties - Louisville, KY

I have not seen it happen. I also would not recommend it to my clients.

Apr 06, 2018 09:04 AM
Ambassador
4,779,496
Jeff Dowler, CRS
eXp Realty of California, Inc. - Carlsbad, CA
The Southern California Relocation Dude

Not for me, but perhaps others. I had one years ago, that's it.

Apr 06, 2018 08:57 AM
Ambassador
1,940,358
Carol Williams
Although I'm retired, I love sharing my knowledge and learning from other real estate industry professionals. - Wenatchee, WA
Retired Agent / Broker / Property Manager

I don't understand EVER waiving an inspection option.  It protects ALL parties. 

Apr 06, 2018 08:54 AM
Rainmaker
855,332
Olga Simoncelli
Veritas Prime, LLC dba Veritas Prime Real Estate - New Fairfield, CT
CONSULTANT, Real Estate Services & Risk Management

Not too often, unless a) someone in family feels competent to inspect or

b) plan to demolish or redo home.

Apr 06, 2018 08:39 AM
Rainmaker
7,135,663
Roy Kelley
Retired - Gaithersburg, MD

Investors often waive the home inspection.

Apr 06, 2018 08:24 AM
Ambassador
3,176,055
Kathleen Daniels, Probate & Trust Specialist
KD Realty - 408.972.1822 - San Jose, CA
Probate Real Estate

Rarely, if ever when I am representing them.  Removing the contingency does not waive the buyers right to get inspections.  

Apr 06, 2018 07:46 AM
Rainmaker
5,768,742
Ron and Alexandra Seigel
Napa Consultants - Carpinteria, CA
Luxury Real Estate Branding, Marketing & Strategy

Praful, We do not see it.

Apr 06, 2018 07:33 AM
Rainer
6,200
Susan Hutchens
JB Real Estate Group - Burleson, TX
Single Family Residential Sellers and Buyers

Rarely. I strongly discourage this mainly because it protects my buyer and allows them the opportunity to really know what they are buying.

 

Apr 06, 2018 07:15 AM
Rainer
90,359
Ruth Grainger-Starr
Grainger Realty - Cripple Creek, CO
providing AWESOME real estate adventures

Some times I see this. However most just make it shorter so they can still do the inspection but not ask for anything to be done. I tell my buyers it is not the end of the world to have one done to cover their back side. With the older homes most people have one even if it is just for their knowledge. 

Apr 06, 2018 07:02 AM
Rainmaker
2,701,365
Richie Alan Naggar
people first...then business Ran Right Realty - Riverside, CA
agent & author

As a listing agengt, I would insist on it....

Apr 06, 2018 06:42 AM
Rainmaker
3,071,034
Tony and Suzanne Marriott, Associate Brokers
Serving the Greater Phoenix and Scottsdale Metropolitan Area - Scottsdale, AZ
Haven Express @ Keller Williams Arizona Realty

Seldom

Apr 06, 2018 06:04 AM
Rainmaker
4,799,732
Gabe Sanders
Real Estate of Florida specializing in Martin County Residential Homes, Condos and Land Sales - Stuart, FL
Stuart Florida Real Estate

Not very often.

Apr 06, 2018 05:20 AM
Rainmaker
4,419,166
Richard Weeks
Dallas, TX
REALTOR®, Broker

Quite often when working with investors.

Apr 06, 2018 05:14 AM
Rainmaker
584,047
Greg Large
ERA Real Solutions - Grove City, OH
A Tradition of Trust

rarely

Apr 06, 2018 05:03 AM
Rainmaker
3,623,482
James Dray
Fathom Realty - Bentonville, AR
Exceptional Agents, Outstanding Results

Twice in my experience.  One of those regretted it afterward

Apr 06, 2018 04:59 AM
Rainmaker
4,433,809
Gita Bantwal
RE/MAX Centre Realtors - Warwick, PA
REALTOR,ABR,CRS,SRES,GRI - Bucks County & Philadel

No

Apr 06, 2018 04:20 AM
Rainmaker
2,059,780
Michael J. Perry
KW Elite - Lancaster, PA
Lancaster, PA Relo Specialist

Not on My Watch

Apr 06, 2018 02:02 AM