Spam prevention
Rainmaker
4,167,416
Wayne Martin
Wayne M Martin - Chicago, IL
Real Estate Broker - Retired

I have seen reports that nit-pick everything and scared the buyer into cancelling the contract out of sheer fear.

Then again, most have been too the point and easily understandable. I obviously like this guy!

Aug 16, 2017 08:38 AM
Rainmaker
1,636,342
Sandy Padula and Norm Padula, JD, GRI
HomeSmart Realty West & Lend Smart Mortgage, Llc. - Carlsbad, CA
Presence, Persistence & Perseverance

I have had multiple pages, then on other homes only one item. It is very subjective to the whims of the inspector.

Aug 16, 2017 07:30 AM
Ambassador
1,814,773
Alan May
Jameson Sotheby's International Realty - Evanston, IL
A moving experience!

Among the most common complaints I see are:

1) bathroom vents terminating in the attic, causing serious mold issues.

2) double-tapping in electrical panel.

I've had one inspection (a multiple offer situation where we, the sellers, had a back-up offer) where the buyer didn't ask for a single item.  And I've had another transaction where the buyer gave us the entire inspection report and said "fix it all"...

I love this business.

Aug 16, 2017 07:22 AM
Ambassador
5,367,176
Bob Crane
Woodland Management Service / Woodland Real Estate, EXP - Stevens Point, WI
Forestland Experts! 715-204-9671

sometimes I wonder how many of these issues are caused by inspectors shaking stuff around like the loose toilet in your example.

Aug 16, 2017 10:34 PM
Rainmaker
1,717,404
Lyn Sims
RE/MAX Suburban - Schaumburg, IL
Schaumburg Real Estate

The worst one I recently had the buyer would not send it to us but the seller was prepared to give him credits just to shut him up.

The inspectors just can't find nothing wrong - just had a perfect house & nothing was wrong but a sink drain stopper was 'sticky'. I think it was just plain petty honestly.

Aug 16, 2017 09:10 AM
Ambassador
3,260,962
Anna Banana Kruchten CRS, CRB, Phoenix Broker
HomeSmart Real Estate BR030809000 - Phoenix, AZ
602-380-4886

I will never forget the day our preferred inspector called me directly and was at an inspection with one of our agents. He said - are you aware the septic pipes are within 4 inches of the house and are not completed and are you aware that the ceiling is totally caved in in one room.....it went on from there.  No I wasn't please have X call me. Worst one ever. They ended the inspection without completing it.   Pretty nuts.

Aug 16, 2017 07:55 AM
Rainmaker
598,659
Nathan Gesner
American West Realty and Management - Cody, WY
Broker / Property Manager

I don't know the exact answers but I've seen some pretty bare-bones reports that made me question if they even looked at the home. I recently had a long report for a really nice home that made me think I was reading about a 1972 mobile home on a weed lot.

Aug 16, 2017 07:42 AM
Ambassador
3,038,741
Kathleen Daniels, Probate & Trust Specialist
KD Realty - 408.972.1822 - San Jose, CA
Probate Real Estate

The answer to those questions could fill a book Fred Griffin - I seen the good (very clean reports), the bad (things that were unexpected and costly) and the ugly (the money pit let's get the heck outta here). 

Aug 16, 2017 07:25 AM
Rainmaker
610,666
Eve Alexander
Buyers Broker of Florida - Orlando, FL
Exclusively Representing ONLY Orlando Home Buyers

Complicated property. 

Inspections 2 full days...I negotiated $50K concession.

Eve

Aug 16, 2017 07:24 AM
Ambassador
4,560,898
Jeff Dowler, CRS
eXp Realty of California, Inc. - Carlsbad, CA
The Southern California Relocation Dude

Couldn't tell you a specific number by memory. Worst had a cracked slab, a non-working furnace and AC, and a big leak in the roof. The slab issue, per the engineer, was about a $50K fix alone.

Aug 16, 2017 07:18 AM
Rainmaker
1,716,762
Carol Williams
Although I'm retired, I love sharing my knowledge and learning from other real estate industry professionals. - Wenatchee, WA
Retired Agent / Broker / Property Manager

Gosh, I have no idea.  Not much and way too much is the best I can come up with.  

Aug 16, 2017 06:08 AM
Rainmaker
5,571,411
Barbara Todaro
RE/MAX Executive Realty - Retired - Franklin, MA
Previously Affiliated with The Todaro Team

the most common items listed are electrical, plumbing and heating issues....all fixable....

Aug 16, 2017 06:07 AM
Rainmaker
3,323,199
Scott Godzyk
Godzyk Real Estate Services - Manchester, NH
One of the Manchester NH's area Leading Agents

I have had houses pass with flying colors and others fail miserably. Most often is small leaks. For me, no matter what is found, how the delivery of the message is everything. An inspector who is an alarmist will kill a deal with the most minor of items found. 

Aug 16, 2017 06:02 AM
Ambassador
4,205,928
Debe Maxwell, CRS
www.iCharlotteHomes.com | The Maxwell House Group | RE/MAX Executive | (704) 491-3310 - Charlotte, NC
The right Charlotte REALTOR!

The least - 2

The most - 72 as best I can remember

Common items are loose toilets, reversed hot & cold faucets, raised shingles, non-functioning or non-existing GFCI's, gutter issues, HVAC issues, non-functioning jetted tubs (which no one uses) and lately with all of the rain we've been having, high moisture levels in crawl spaces.

Oh and we can't forget the burned out light bulbs that necessitate a "licensed electrician" to evaluate!

Aug 16, 2017 06:01 AM
Rainmaker
364,261
Joshua Frederick
Home Inspector for ASPEC Residential Services, LLC - Defiance, OH
Home Inspector in Defiance & all of Northwest Ohio

I see a majority of inspectors list stupid little things in the summary, including the one you posted.  A chipped shingle? Organic debris in the gutter? LOL. Absurd.

I also think it's amusing that some of these people responding here have seen a house without an issue or only couple.  I have yet to find such an animal in 10+ yrs., and I can assuredly say, I never will.

Sep 15, 2017 02:27 AM
Rainmaker
4,894,484
Joan Cox
House to Home, Inc. - Denver Real Estate - 720-231-6373 - Denver, CO
Denver Real Estate - Selling One Home at a Time

Fred, the inspection is always the toughest hurdle in a transaction, and have seen 20+ items and then some with nothing.   Most often is cleaning and servicing the furnace.  That is on almost all inspection reports here.

Aug 18, 2017 10:21 AM
Rainmaker
3,978,209
Will Hamm
Hamm Homes - Aurora, CO
"Where There's a Will, There's a Way!"

I had one inspector have 46 items listed and the buyers wanted them all fix, one item was a loose screw on a cabinet in the garage.   Best was only 4 items

Aug 18, 2017 08:23 AM
Rainmaker
3,069,934
Tony and Suzanne Marriott, Associate Brokers
Serving the Greater Phoenix and Scottsdale Metropolitan Area - Scottsdale, AZ
Haven Express @ Keller Williams Arizona Realty

Most interesting one was a crack in the slab visible in the garage.  Would cost $5K to remedy - BUT - the Buyers did not object during the inspection period so would have forfeited $7,500 Earnest Money to our Short Sale Seller if the cancelled.  They decided not to cancel - better the $5K expense than the $7,500 expense!

Aug 17, 2017 07:15 AM
Rainmaker
916,473
Jennifer Mackay
Counts Real Estate Group, Inc. - Panama City, FL
Your Bay County Florida Realtor 850.774.6582

Way too many to list but most common is age of A/C  and roof.

Aug 17, 2017 06:40 AM
Rainmaker
729,653
Paul Antonelli
Antonelli Realty - Saint Cloud, FL
Broker Owner; Antonelli Realty

Trying to renegotiate an AS-IS contract. 

Aug 17, 2017 05:11 AM
Ambassador
4,312,753
Praful Thakkar
LAER Realty Partners - Andover, MA
Andover, MA: Andover Luxury Homes For Sale

Fred Griffin - wow! loaded question.

I can think of a brand new construction as the best home inspection and a 1900 buliding as the worst where the inspector wondered how this building could servive to even stand!

Aug 16, 2017 09:37 PM
Rainmaker
1,217,219
Thomas J. Nelson, REALTOR ® e-Pro CRS RCS-D Vets
Big Block Realty 858.232.8722 - La Jolla, CA
& Host of Postcards From Success Podcast

I never worry about the inspections, I worry about the Request For Repairs.

Most common issues are aging systems, roofs, chimneys, termites and homeowner neglect...stupid stuff that should have been fixed.

Aug 16, 2017 08:36 PM
Rainmaker
3,985,837
William Feela
WHISPERING PINES REALTY - North Branch, MN
Realtor, Whispering Pines Realty 651-674-5999 No.

If you can think of it it probably happened

Aug 16, 2017 05:54 PM
Rainmaker
1,381,673
Ryan Huggins - Thousand Oaks, CA
https://HugginsHomes.com - Thousand Oaks, CA
Residential Real Estate and Investment Properties

There are a lot of minutia that gets called out.  One time had an inspector call out 8 outlets as not working... the idiot tripped the GFI switch with his tester.  The buyer went ape-shit (and his agent was a mook so that didn't help any).  I have a couple inspectors now that my sellers won't allow on their property.

Aug 16, 2017 09:28 AM
Rainmaker
4,433,683
Gita Bantwal
RE/MAX Centre Realtors - Warwick, PA
REALTOR,ABR,CRS,SRES,GRI - Bucks County & Philadel

Cant think of any.

Aug 16, 2017 09:04 AM
Rainmaker
6,555,054
Roy Kelley
Realty Group Referrals - Gaithersburg, MD

Bad memories that are best forgotten.

Aug 16, 2017 08:12 AM
Rainmaker
1,707,423
Joe Pryor
The Virtual Real Estate Team - Oklahoma City, OK
REALTOR® - Oklahoma Investment Properties

That is some list, you win.

Aug 16, 2017 07:46 AM
Ambassador
3,986,660
Debbie Reynolds, C21 Platinum Properties
Platinum Properties- (931)771-9070 - Clarksville, TN
The Dedicated Clarksville TN Realtor-(931)320-6730

I have had over 40 items show up on a report. That took some sorting through. Then I had one home a few weeks ago that had none. The inspector made comments more about keeping up the maintenance (it was a new home) but nothing needed to be corrected. This was a first.

Aug 16, 2017 06:12 AM
Rainmaker
4,799,481
Gabe Sanders
Real Estate of Florida specializing in Martin County Residential Homes, Condos and Land Sales - Stuart, FL
Stuart Florida Real Estate

I have had one inspection with no major deficiencies, just some recurring maintenance reminders.  And, some, with multiple pages of issues.

Aug 16, 2017 06:07 AM
Rainmaker
2,635,377
Richie Alan Naggar
people first...then business Ran Right Realty - Riverside, CA
agent & author

I had a guy take hours and I had to ask him...How much longer here? Why? The house was in near new shape. What are you looking for?

Aug 16, 2017 06:04 AM
Rainmaker
4,065,279
Nina Hollander, Broker
Coldwell Banker Realty - Charlotte, NC
Your Greater Charlotte Realtor

The least is probably two items. The most... more than 4 dozen items. Most common issue I would say is wood rot.

Aug 16, 2017 05:50 AM
Rainmaker
2,020,450
Michael J. Perry
KW Elite - Lancaster, PA
Lancaster, PA Relo Specialist

I've seen a lot of different things !

Aug 16, 2017 05:43 AM