William  Piotrowski (Diamond Residential Mortgage Corporation )

Spam prevention
Rainmaker
3,066,356
Tony and Suzanne Marriott, Associate Brokers
Serving the Greater Phoenix and Scottsdale Metropolitan Area - Scottsdale, AZ
Haven Express @ Keller Williams Arizona Realty

Install a drain pan for the water heater

Seal the house against scorpions

Seller declined - and Buyers proceeded anyway.

Jan 26, 2017 04:53 AM
Rainmaker
3,492,927
Nina Hollander
Coldwell Banker Realty - Charlotte, NC
Your Charlotte/Ballantyne/Waxhaw/Fort Mill Realtor

A buyer walked on a contract because 5 days before closing they demanded that the trampoline, which had always been there and was noted in the listing an photos, be removed by closing. My sellers said that a neighbor was willing to take the trampoline the day after closing... about 16 hours later... buyers walked. They were in breach and lost money... I think they were looking for an excuse to walk. 5 days later we had another offer and we closed.

Jan 26, 2017 09:46 AM
Ambassador
2,468,572
Fred Griffin Tallahassee Real Estate
Fred Griffin Real Estate - Tallahassee, FL
Licensed Florida Real Estate Broker

Fill in the pool.

Jan 26, 2017 06:52 AM
Rainmaker
3,474,365
Will Hamm
Hamm Homes - Aurora, CO
"Where There's a Will, There's a Way!"

One inspector told his clients to ask for all 46 items , one of the items was a screw needed to be replace because the head was stripe.

 

Jan 26, 2017 09:44 AM
Rainmaker
577,835
Eve Alexander
Buyers Broker of Florida - Orlando, FL
Exclusively Representing ONLY Orlando Home Buyers

I have the reality talk with the buyer BEFORE inspections so that they have the right frame of mind going in.  I really can't remember asking for anything unreasonable...

I can however remember many instances where the seller tries to take attached things that make me say OMG! (put it back...)

Eve

Jan 26, 2017 08:18 AM
Rainmaker
1,618,500
Lyn Sims
RE/MAX Suburban - Schaumburg, IL
Schaumburg Real Estate

Remove the dead frog from the window well.

Jan 26, 2017 04:55 AM
Ambassador
3,719,361
Debe Maxwell, CRS
www.iCharlotteHomes.com | The Maxwell House Group | RE/MAX Executive | (704) 491-3310 - Charlotte, NC
The right Charlotte REALTOR!

I had a VA inspector claim that the fireplace didn't have a chimney and despite my photos showing otherwise, the buyer demanded that a chimney be added - for a WORKING fireplace!  My sellers got a good laugh out of it but, you wouldn't believe the red tape it took to finally get the inspector back out there because he didn't believe that he could have possibly missed the chimney!

Jan 25, 2017 09:18 PM
Ambassador
4,251,456
Jeff Dowler, CRS
eXp Realty of California, Inc. - Carlsbad, CA
The Southern California Relocation Dude

I had a buyer request that a broken receptacle cover be replaced, among other small issues. I had another buyer who wanted EVERYTHING, literally, that was on the inspection report taken care of. Seller said no

Jan 25, 2017 08:32 PM
Ambassador
1,307,352
Susan Emo
Sotheby's International Realty Canada - Brokerage - Kingston, ON
Kingston and the 1000 Islands Area

Following this same question on FB.

Jan 25, 2017 07:38 PM
Rainmaker
1,048,486
Thomas J. Nelson, REALTOR ® e-Pro CRS RCS-D Vets
Big Block Realty 858.232.8722 - La Jolla, CA
& Host of Postcards From Success Podcast

We had to ask a seller to remove a mirror from over a bed once back in my San Francisco selling days. My buyers were too conservative for all that implied 

Jan 25, 2017 07:24 PM
Ambassador
4,754,903
Bob Crane
Woodland Management Service / Woodland Real Estate, Keller Williams Fox Cities - Stevens Point, WI
Forestland Experts! 715-204-9671

building a road.

 

Mar 19, 2017 11:48 PM
Rainmaker
4,381,679
Joan Cox
House to Home, Inc. - Denver Real Estate - 720-231-6373 - Denver, CO
Denver Real Estate - Selling One Home at a Time

Repair a hole in the wall near the floor in the back of a coat closet.

Jan 29, 2017 12:19 PM
Ambassador
4,306,997
Praful Thakkar
LAER Realty Partners - Andover, MA
Andover, MA: Andover Luxury Homes For Sale

William Piotrowski - wow! Asking for fixing an electric plug - which would cost hardly $10.

On other hand asking to replace the whole electical wiring because it is made of a material previousl approved - and not so safe now!

Jan 28, 2017 09:59 PM
Ambassador
2,209,980
Debbie Laity
Cedaredge Land Company - Cedaredge, CO
Your Real Estate Resource for Delta County, CO

Thankfully I haven't come across this yet...knock on wood. 

Jan 26, 2017 04:11 PM
Rainmaker
794,996
Kasey & John Boles
Jon Gosche Real Estate, LLC - BoiseMeridianRealEstate.com - Boise, ID
Boise & Meridian, ID Ada/Canyon/Gem/Boise Counties

I am trying to think of one, I know we've had some but off the top of my mind I can't think of them!  Although, our inspector has told us stories about snakes in the crawl space and one of our inspectors was stuck in the crawl for hours because a badger was down there between him and the crawl door and nobody was home.  Talk about scary!  Oh, and this is also not an inspection item but one of my agents showed a house and in the basement was a live alligator they kept as a pet.  In Idaho.  Not in a cage. That they had to walk by see the back bedrooms.  And I found out the listing was in MY neighborhood.  I don't live in Florida and one of the main reasons is I am terrified of alligators and crocodiles and then I found out there was one in my own neighborhood in Idaho!  Aaahh!!-Kasey

Jan 26, 2017 02:01 PM
Rainmaker
1,306,432
Ryan Huggins - Thousand Oaks, CA
https://HugginsHomes.com - Thousand Oaks, CA
Residential Real Estate and Investment Properties

To correct items that were to last year's code but not this year's code (and the house is 40 years old).

Jan 26, 2017 12:25 PM
Rainmaker
5,387,689
Barbara Todaro
RE/MAX Executive Realty - Retired - Franklin, MA
Previously Affiliated with The Todaro Team

I've not had any outrageous requests that I can remember....

Jan 26, 2017 10:08 AM
Rainmaker
1,592,030
Sandy Padula and Norm Padula, JD, GRI
HomeSmart Realty West & Lend Smart Mortgage, Llc. - Carlsbad, CA
Presence, Persistence & Perseverance

Demanding a new roof paid for by the seller although the inspection showed the roof was tight.

Jan 26, 2017 07:14 AM
Rainmaker
4,798,831
Gabe Sanders
Real Estate of Florida specializing in Martin County Residential Homes, Condos and Land Sales - Stuart, FL
Stuart Florida Real Estate

I had one where they requested the pool to be excavated.

Jan 26, 2017 06:45 AM
Rainmaker
3,636,789
Wayne Martin
Wayne M Martin - Chicago, IL
Real Estate Broker - Retired

Inspector claiming need for a knee wall at the corner of a garage. A two course knee wll was in place and he was the only one who could not see it! Solution, new inspector and report!

Jan 26, 2017 06:16 AM
Rainmaker
4,432,941
Gita Bantwal
RE/MAX Centre Realtors - Warwick, PA
REALTOR,ABR,CRS,SRES,GRI - Bucks County & Philadel

Nothing odd.

Jan 26, 2017 05:15 AM
Rainmaker
881,509
Jennifer Mackay
Counts Real Estate Group, Inc. - Panama City, FL
Your Bay County Florida Realtor 850.774.6582

You need to follow Richard Weeks - his are hilarious!

Jan 26, 2017 04:27 AM
Rainmaker
2,004,006
Andrew Mooers | 207.532.6573
MOOERS REALTY - Houlton, ME
Northern Maine Real Estate-Aroostook County Broker

Home inspections just not that common, the buyers are tradesman, uncle bob a plumber, buyer's dad a carpenter, his brother an electrician so only 1 percent get the turn the head and cough with the clipboard "expert". The appraiser dings for broken window, peeling paint, the insurance agent for the missing front steps on the door never used or slap a railing around that open deck and pool.

Jan 26, 2017 04:18 AM
Ambassador
1,615,582
Harry F. D'Elia III
RentVest - Phoenix, AZ
Investor , Mentor, GRI, Radio, CIPS, REOs, ABR

demanding new AC unit only five years old

Jan 26, 2017 04:18 AM
Rainmaker
5,882,674
Roy Kelley
Realty Group Referrals - Gaithersburg, MD

Blog about your experience.

Jan 26, 2017 03:10 AM
Ambassador
2,241,095
MichelleCherie Carr Crowe Just Call...408-252-8900
Get Results Team...Just Call (408) 252-8900! . DRE #00901962 . Licensed to Sell since 1985 . Altas Realty - San Jose, CA
Family Helping Families Buy & Sell Homes 40+ Years

I've had buyers request every item on the inspection list, including Section 2 items!

Jan 25, 2017 09:15 PM
Rainmaker
583,575
Nathan Gesner
American West Realty and Management - Cody, WY
Broker / Property Manager

I've never had a personal experience but there are some strange requests out there.

Jan 25, 2017 08:48 PM
Rainmaker
3,985,581
William Feela
WHISPERING PINES REALTY - North Branch, MN
Realtor, Whispering Pines Realty 651-674-5999 No.

I don't feel I have ever requested anything odd.  If it needs to be repaired it isn't odd

Jan 25, 2017 08:30 PM