Spam prevention
Rainmaker
1,618,650
Lyn Sims
RE/MAX Suburban - Schaumburg, IL
Schaumburg Real Estate

Just did a post about a survey on this & it is buyer cannot get financing. Gene Mundt just got interviewed about the app to crash ratio.

Jan 10, 2017 05:06 AM
Rainmaker
3,494,180
Nina Hollander
Coldwell Banker Realty - Charlotte, NC
Your Charlotte/Ballantyne/Waxhaw/Fort Mill Realtor

I haven't had but one fail in several years... and that one failed over inspections.

Jan 10, 2017 03:40 AM
Rainmaker
4,921,226
Ron and Alexandra Seigel
Napa Consultants - Carpinteria, CA
Luxury Real Estate Branding, Marketing & Strategy

Paul,

The one that hurt the most was a big luxury store deal in Beverly Hills.  Everything was done, the designer flew in from Japan to OK the deal, the money was in the trust account ready to be disbursed...the last hurdle was the Feng Shui master who flew in from San Francisco to check out the location...decided the wind blew the wrong way....

I bought every book on Feng Shui that day and read everyone of them in less than a month...never had a Feng Shui encounter after that, although I learned a lot.  A

Jan 10, 2017 08:28 AM
Rainmaker
1,353,480
Anthony Acosta - ALLATLANTACONDOS.COM
Harry Norman, REALTORS® - Atlanta, GA
Associate Broker

Financing.

Jan 10, 2017 06:57 AM
Rainmaker
821,950
Annette Lawrence , Palm Harbor, FL 727-420-4041
ReMax Realtec Group - Palm Harbor, FL
Making FLORIDA Real Estate EZ

1. Chase

2. Bubba inspection services

3. Buyer remorse

Jan 10, 2017 05:12 AM
Rainmaker
1,027,155
Susan Haughton
Long and Foster REALTORS (703) 470-4545 - Alexandria, VA
Susan & Mindy Team...Honesty. Integrity. Results.

I had to stop and think about failed transactions, which I suppose is a good thing.  One buyer fell out because the house was in much worse shape than it initially appeared and one seller fell out of its first contract (2nd one came along quickly) because the buyer got cold feet. 

Jan 10, 2017 05:10 AM
Rainmaker
695,680
Brenda Mayette
Miranda Real Estate Group, Inc. - Glenville, NY
Getting results w/ knowledge & know-how!

I'm thrilled that I'm trying to remember the failed transactions...  ;)    I do know that the biggest challenge to overcome is typically inspections. Old does NOT mean broken is my repetitive mantra in this areana!

Jan 10, 2017 04:28 AM
Rainmaker
735,413
Peter Mohylsky. Beach Expert
PrimeSouth Properties - Santa Rosa Beach, FL
THE BEACH IS OPEN

It is not a number that I track but financing seems to ring a bell right now.

Jan 10, 2017 03:34 AM
Ambassador
4,252,321
Jeff Dowler, CRS
eXp Realty of California, Inc. - Carlsbad, CA
The Southern California Relocation Dude

Thankfully they have been rare, but had 1 appraisal issue 2 years ago, and 2 properties (same buyer) with easement issues

Jan 11, 2017 03:58 PM
Rainmaker
3,476,028
Will Hamm
Hamm Homes - Aurora, CO
"Where There's a Will, There's a Way!"

I am dealing with a deal closing next week and agent just called and said mortgage company will probably not do the loan.

 

Jan 11, 2017 11:03 AM
Rainmaker
1,592,130
Sandy Padula and Norm Padula, JD, GRI
HomeSmart Realty West & Lend Smart Mortgage, Llc. - Carlsbad, CA
Presence, Persistence & Perseverance

Overwhelming issues cropping up from a home inspection that are not negotiated away.

Jan 11, 2017 07:22 AM
Rainmaker
583,675
Nathan Gesner
American West Realty and Management - Cody, WY
Broker / Property Manager

I don't have a lot of failures but probably financing has been the biggest.

Jan 10, 2017 09:08 PM
Rainmaker
3,985,581
William Feela
WHISPERING PINES REALTY - North Branch, MN
Realtor, Whispering Pines Realty 651-674-5999 No.

Inspection/disclosure issues

Jan 10, 2017 08:20 PM
Ambassador
3,713,390
Patricia Kennedy
RLAH Real Estate - Washington, DC
Home in the Capital

Inspections for me - and only for huge surprises.  At least that happens really early in the transaction time frame and we can move on.  

Jan 10, 2017 07:48 PM
Ambassador
2,468,722
Fred Griffin Tallahassee Real Estate
Fred Griffin Real Estate - Tallahassee, FL
Licensed Florida Real Estate Broker

Loan denied.

Jan 10, 2017 07:18 PM
Ambassador
3,985,307
Debbie Reynolds
Platinum Properties - Clarksville, TN
Your Dedicated Clarksville TN Real Estate Agent

I don't have them fail often but when it does it usually is a financing or underwriting issue.

Jan 10, 2017 06:24 PM
Ambassador
4,756,318
Bob Crane
Woodland Management Service / Woodland Real Estate, Keller Williams Fox Cities - Stevens Point, WI
Forestland Experts! 715-204-9671

Most of those can be worked around, but if the buyer has second thoughts it is easy to let these other issues become roadblocks.

Jan 10, 2017 06:22 PM
Ambassador
2,209,980
Debbie Laity
Cedaredge Land Company - Cedaredge, CO
Your Real Estate Resource for Delta County, CO

It's been some time since I've had one fall through. I think the last one was because the buyers found something they liked better. 

Jan 10, 2017 03:30 PM
Rainmaker
577,189
Gloria Valvasori, Accredited Senior Agent
BETTER HOMES AND GARDENS REAL ESTATE SIGNATURE SERVICE - Mississauga, ON
REAL Experience | REAL Commitment | REAL Results!

I haven't had a transaction fail in quite a while, which is a good thing... but the last sale did not firm up because what the lawyer discovered during a review of the Status Certificate for a condo townhome.  There was a Special Assessment levied for the ocmplex to each unit onwer which was not disclosed by the Seller, and he was not willing to pay it.

Jan 10, 2017 03:22 PM
Ambassador
4,306,997
Praful Thakkar
LAER Realty Partners - Andover, MA
Andover, MA: Andover Luxury Homes For Sale

Paul S. Henderson, REALTOR®, Broker, Tacoma Washington - if any one party is not on top of the activities related to the transaction - it can fail!

Jan 10, 2017 03:19 PM
Rainmaker
1,091,930
Sam Shueh
(408) 425-1601 - San Jose, CA
mba, cdpe, reopro, pe

Thinking they ain't got their money worth. 

Jan 10, 2017 09:27 AM
Rainmaker
1,306,592
Ryan Huggins - Thousand Oaks, CA
https://HugginsHomes.com - Thousand Oaks, CA
Residential Real Estate and Investment Properties

Egos and agents who can't manage their clients or don't know how to talk to them.

Jan 10, 2017 09:15 AM
Rainmaker
2,557,820
Richie Alan Naggar
people first...then business Ran Right Realty - Riverside, CA
agent & author

I sweat out the appraisal stage...all else is predictable

Jan 10, 2017 07:40 AM
Rainmaker
864,056
Les & Sarah Oswald
Realty One Group - Eastvale, CA
Broker, Realtor and Investor

Financing. Wish the preapproval letter had some weight on it. That is why it is so important to work with a reputable and experienced agent.

Jan 10, 2017 07:20 AM
Rainmaker
1,411,327
Michael Setunsky
Woodbridge, VA
Your Commercial Real Estate Link to Northern VA

Paul S. Henderson, REALTOR®, Broker, Tacoma Washington The underwriter.

Jan 10, 2017 06:59 AM
Ambassador
1,706,708
Joe Pryor
The Virtual Real Estate Team - Oklahoma City, OK
REALTOR® - Oklahoma Investment Properties

Most of my houses are new with 800 credit score investors but on existing it would have to be inspection.

Jan 10, 2017 06:41 AM
Rainmaker
881,609
Jennifer Mackay
Counts Real Estate Group, Inc. - Panama City, FL
Your Bay County Florida Realtor 850.774.6582

Right now.... APPRAISALS!!!!

Jan 10, 2017 06:35 AM
Rainmaker
4,798,831
Gabe Sanders
Real Estate of Florida specializing in Martin County Residential Homes, Condos and Land Sales - Stuart, FL
Stuart Florida Real Estate

It's probably inspection issues as number 1.

Jan 10, 2017 06:18 AM
Rainmaker
3,637,425
Wayne Martin
Wayne M Martin - Chicago, IL
Real Estate Broker - Retired

Lack of communication about potential bumps in the road is the largest culprit!

Jan 10, 2017 06:06 AM
Rainmaker
3,481,908
Richard Weeks
Dallas, TX
REALTOR®, Broker

In our market low appraisals.

Jan 10, 2017 06:05 AM
Rainmaker
812,414
Candice A. Donofrio
Next Wave RE Investments LLC Bullhead City AZ Commercial RE Broker - Fort Mohave, AZ
928-201-4BHC (4242) call/text

Property condition issues exceeding buyer threshold of pain and sellers willingness or ability to correct.

Jan 10, 2017 06:01 AM
Rainmaker
144,616
Julie Larson Realtor® Sarasota FL 941-882-0322
PalmerHouse Properties Florida - 941-882-0322 | Serving Sarasota, Manatee & Charlotte Counties - Sarasota, FL
When you're thinking of moving...ThinkSuncoast.com

The number one reason for any of my transactions failing is because of financing. More specifically, the buyers got "pre-approved" and used one of the large, national financial institutions.

I've had 3 horrible experiences with two of the big banks and would highly recommend that buyers go with a local lender whenever possible.

Jan 10, 2017 05:49 AM
Rainmaker
3,182,981
Scott Godzyk
Godzyk Real Estate Services - Manchester, NH
One of the Manchester NH's area Leading Agents

The top 2 are inspections and mortgage rejection. By inspecting the home before listing and having the seller take care of things before showing, we can elimintae most items except what can not be seen such as well, septic or a hidden defect. With the mortgage aspect, having buyers be pre approved can reduce the rejections

Jan 10, 2017 05:39 AM
Rainmaker
589,629
Tony Lewis
RE/MAX of Valencia (Hall of Fame) 30 year Valencia Resident - Valencia, CA
Summit Real Estate Santa Clarita & OC Laguna Nigel

I tell buyers that there are three reasons that transactions fail.

  1. Loan Approval,
  2. Homes Inspection
  3. Buyer's Remorse.

I would say that over 90% fail for one of these three reasons and in that order.  The Realtor can help but only to a certain point.

Jan 10, 2017 05:25 AM
Rainmaker
5,388,650
Barbara Todaro
RE/MAX Executive Realty - Retired - Franklin, MA
Previously Affiliated with The Todaro Team

when I was active, it was RARE that a transaction failed.... rare...

Jan 10, 2017 05:14 AM
Rainmaker
5,883,749
Roy Kelley
Realty Group Referrals - Gaithersburg, MD

I have not tracked this information.

Jan 10, 2017 04:41 AM
Rainmaker
3,229,472
James Dray
Fathom Realty - Bentonville, AR
Exceptional Agents, Outstanding Results

Number one appraisal number two inspections.

Jan 10, 2017 04:27 AM
Rainmaker
4,432,941
Gita Bantwal
RE/MAX Centre Realtors - Warwick, PA
REALTOR,ABR,CRS,SRES,GRI - Bucks County & Philadel

Inspections

Jan 10, 2017 04:25 AM
Rainmaker
3,066,356
Tony and Suzanne Marriott, Associate Brokers
Serving the Greater Phoenix and Scottsdale Metropolitan Area - Scottsdale, AZ
Haven Express @ Keller Williams Arizona Realty

Peter Mohylsky nailed this one!

Jan 10, 2017 04:19 AM