Lise Howe, Assoc. Broker in DC, MD, VA and attorney in DC (Keller Williams Capital Properties)

Spam prevention
Ambassador
1,409,284
Susan Emo
Sotheby's International Realty Canada - Brokerage - Kingston, ON
Kingston and the 1000 Islands Area

I attend only for my Buyers and we are not to participate.  But, then again our inspections are not an excuse to renegotiate!  Our homes are sold as is.

Apr 24, 2016 01:23 AM
Ambassador
3,145,810
Kathleen Daniels, Probate & Trust Specialist
KD Realty - 408.972.1822 - San Jose, CA
Probate Real Estate

I attend all inspections I order for my sellers.  I use the time to complete my Agent Visual Inspection Disclosure.  I do not ever interfere with the inspector or inspection.  

Apr 24, 2016 10:52 AM
Rainmaker
2,707,335
Lisa Von Domek
Lisa Von Domek Team - Dallas, TX
....Experience Isn't Expensive.... It's Priceless!

I typically attend at the end of the inspection to listen to the summary. 

Apr 24, 2016 10:48 AM
Rainmaker
3,887,799
Lawrence "Larry" & Sheila Agranoff. Cell: 631-805-4400
The Top Team @ Charles Rutenberg Realty 255 Executive Dr, Plainview NY 11803 - Plainview, NY
Long Island Condo and Home Specialists

Larry attends all our home inspections...

Apr 24, 2016 06:28 AM
Rainmaker
4,799,651
Gabe Sanders
Real Estate of Florida specializing in Martin County Residential Homes, Condos and Land Sales - Stuart, FL
Stuart Florida Real Estate

I always make an appearance at the beginning and at the end.  But don't stay for the entire inspection.

Apr 24, 2016 05:39 AM
Ambassador
3,724,077
Patricia Kennedy
RLAH Real Estate - Washington, DC
Home in the Capital

I don't attend the entire home inspection, but I do drop by toward the end to hear the recap from the inspector.  I think this ought to be the buyers' time with their new house, and my lurking around them and their agent might get in the way of that.

Apr 24, 2016 05:15 AM
Rainmaker
5,579,343
Barbara Todaro
RE/MAX Executive Realty - Happily Retired - Franklin, MA
Previously Affiliated with The Todaro Team

yes, the listing agents for whom I market attend every home inspection, in order to hear first hand what the issues truly are in the opinion of the inspector...

Apr 24, 2016 05:14 AM
Rainmaker
2,684,052
Richie Alan Naggar
people first...then business Ran Right Realty - Riverside, CA
agent & author

Free college? I'll take that lesson!

Apr 24, 2016 04:39 AM
Rainmaker
1,525,355
Sybil Campbell
Fernandina Beach, FL
Referral Agent Amelia Island Florida

Yes I do, it is a good practice.

Apr 24, 2016 04:34 AM
Rainmaker
3,986,000
William Feela
WHISPERING PINES REALTY - North Branch, MN
Realtor, Whispering Pines Realty 651-674-5999 No.

Yes, always

Apr 24, 2016 04:27 AM
Ambassador
958,222
Mimi Foster
Falcon Property Company - Colorado Springs, CO
Voted Colorado Springs Best Realtor

I would absolutely not show up as the Seller's agent to an inspection. This is the time for the Buyer to find out what they need to know. Their LICENSED agent must be present to open the box that can only be opened by a licensed agent, and I make sure that the agent will be there the whole time. 

We let them see the house without us there. They loved it enough to want to buy it. Why should I not trust them now?

Apr 24, 2016 03:27 AM
Rainmaker
804,377
Susan Laxson CRS
Premiere Plus Realty - Naples, FL
Realtor in Naples & Marco Island, FL

I attend, but not as a participant, but as an observer. I don't want anyone quoting me on things that are out of my areas of expertise. I also don't want inspectors doing anything to my seller's home without their permission. This affords me the opportunity to learn of potential problems that may come up from the report and advise my sellers.

Apr 24, 2016 03:02 AM
Rainmaker
3,622,507
James Dray
Fathom Realty - Bentonville, AR
Exceptional Agents, Outstanding Results

no

Apr 24, 2016 01:24 AM
Rainmaker
3,376,868
Scott Godzyk
Godzyk Real Estate Services - Manchester, NH
One of the Manchester NH's area Leading Agents

Every one, i do like to stay close, but not in the way. I do like to hear what the inspector is saying. After all i represent the seller and would prefer to have 1st hand info, not what the buyer interprets to get the price down. 

Apr 24, 2016 01:07 AM
Rainmaker
1,708,235
Joe Pryor
The Virtual Real Estate Team - Oklahoma City, OK
REALTOR® - Oklahoma Investment Properties

I have an agent who handles all listings and attends all inspections.

Apr 24, 2016 01:06 AM
Ambassador
5,699,979
Bob Crane
Woodland Management Service / Woodland Real Estate, EXP - Stevens Point, WI
Forestland Experts! 715-204-9671

I do not.

Jul 25, 2019 09:56 PM
Rainmaker
4,278,787
Will Hamm
Hamm Homes - Aurora, CO
"Where There's a Will, There's a Way!"

No, the buyers is paying for it so the buyer agent should be there.

Apr 27, 2016 10:00 AM
Ambassador
2,177,042
Hannah Williams
HomeStarr Realty - Philadelphia, PA
Expertise NE Philadelphia & Bucks 215-820-3376

I attend when the buyer's agent decides it is not their responsibility to attend I think  a Real Estate professional should be present at the inspection

Apr 27, 2016 02:41 AM
Rainmaker
5,265,702
Joan Cox
House to Home, Inc. - Denver Real Estate - 720-231-6373 - Denver, CO
Denver Real Estate - Selling One Home at a Time

No, I think the buyer needs that time with their buyer's agent.

Apr 25, 2016 11:43 PM
Ambassador
3,071,241
Tammy Lankford,
Lane Realty Eatonton, GA Lake Sinclair, Milledgeville, 706-485-9668 - Eatonton, GA
Broker GA Lake Sinclair/Eatonton/Milledgeville

it's rare I go for my listings, but in the event the buyers agent cannot I will.  (whatever it takes to get my seller to closing). I do however attend with my buyers

Apr 25, 2016 02:52 PM
Ambassador
4,316,065
Praful Thakkar
LAER Realty Partners - Andover, MA
Andover, MA: Andover Luxury Homes For Sale

Lise Howe I prefer not to. Unless my sellers insist, I do. 

Apr 25, 2016 01:04 PM
Rainmaker
786,398
Brenda Mayette
Miranda Real Estate Group, Inc. - Glenville, NY
Getting results w/ knowledge & know-how!

I usually pop in at some point to meet and greet and hear, first hand, what's up. :)

Apr 25, 2016 12:11 AM
Rainmaker
4,301,969
Richard Weeks
Dallas, TX
REALTOR®, Broker

No.  I don't even attend when I represent the buyer. 

Apr 24, 2016 11:41 PM
Rainmaker
4,510,688
Wayne Martin
Wayne M Martin - Chicago, IL
Real Estate Broker - Retired

Yes, most of the time. Like to understand the potential issues.

Apr 24, 2016 10:28 PM
Rainer
98,773
Becca Rasmussen
HomeSmart Cherry Creek - Highlands Ranch, CO

Interesting range of answers.   

As a newbie, I'm being coached to not attend them (or attend to let the buyer/inspector/buyer's agent troupe in/out but otherwise stay the heck out of the way) and to instruct the buyer's agent to not send summaries or the full reports. We only want to know about, in writing and by the inspection objection deadline, the specific item(s) the current buyer might want addressed along with their proposed fixes so that the seller can review and decide to address, or not, the item(s). 

Should the current transaction fall through, anything the current buyer brings to our attention the seller would then have to disclose (or disclose + refute + document, or disclose + address + document) to future buyer prospects. 

Apr 24, 2016 08:44 PM
Rainmaker
1,549,405
Inna Ivchenko
Barcode Properties - Encino, CA
Realtor® • GRI • HAFA • PSC Calabasas CA

Yes, but not always. It depends on the sale and condition of the house. 

Apr 24, 2016 02:30 PM
Ambassador
3,986,960
Debbie Reynolds, C21 Platinum Properties
Platinum Properties- (931)771-9070 - Clarksville, TN
The Dedicated Clarksville TN Realtor-(931)320-6730

Most of my listings are vacant and home inspectors usually have their own SentriLock key and don't need me there to get in their way.

Apr 24, 2016 01:36 PM
Rainer
77,119
Sandra Steele
Wise Choice Properties, Sedona/Verde Valley Branch - Cottonwood, AZ
Integrity, Knowledge - 37 Years of Experience!!!

It depends on the client.  Over the years, I would venture to say 50%.

Apr 24, 2016 01:14 PM
Rainer
319,929
Melissa Jackson
Century 21 Alliance Properties - Azle, TX
Helping You Make The Right Move

No, I don't show up for inspections on my listings.  I see a variety of answers.  Interesting..

Apr 24, 2016 12:50 PM
Rainmaker
1,243,004
Joyce Marsh
Joyce Marsh Real Estate LLC - Daytona Beach, FL
Joyce Marsh Real Estate LLC - Coast & Luxury

Yes I attend all home inspections.  I feel it is a good practice. 

Apr 24, 2016 12:29 PM
Rainmaker
444,020
Dianne Goode
Raleigh Cary Realty - Raleigh, NC
Realtor/Broker

No.  The buyers agent attends if the buyers are there.  If no clients are present, the inspector can go in alone.  

Apr 24, 2016 12:15 PM
Rainer
67,209
Evelyn M Epperson
Coldwell Banker Residential Brokerage - Johns Creek, GA
A Tradition Of [Excellence, Trust & Service]

No, not at all.  After 32 years of real estate it makes no difference if I show up to the inspection.  I tell all my buyers that this is their time to meet and speak with the inspector about anything.

Apr 24, 2016 11:12 AM
Ambassador
2,604,833
Fred Griffin Florida Real Estate
Fred Griffin Real Estate - Tallahassee, FL
Licensed Florida Real Estate Broker

       Yes, absolutely.  I bring a laptop and other work.  I sit in the car.  

             I want to be there for my client.

Apr 24, 2016 11:08 AM
Rainmaker
1,157,535
FN LN
Toronto, ON

The buyer's agent would attend, not the listing agent, in our jurisdiction.

Apr 24, 2016 10:31 AM
Rainmaker
4,328,999
Dorie Dillard Austin TX
Coldwell Banker Realty ~ 512.750.6899 - Austin, TX
NW Austin ~ Canyon Creek and Spicewood/Balcones

As listing agent we are told not to attend. The inspection is being paid for by the buyer and it is their time to check things out with their agent. Seller should not be present either.

Apr 24, 2016 09:58 AM
Rainmaker
1,231,605
Mary Yonkers
Alan Kells School of Real Estate/Howard Hanna Real Estate - Erie, PA
Erie/PA Real Estate Instructor

Not as seller agent but as buyer agent most of the time.

Apr 24, 2016 09:25 AM
Rainmaker
844,262
Olga Simoncelli
Veritas Prime, LLC dba Veritas Prime Real Estate - New Fairfield, CT
CONSULTANT, Real Estate Services & Risk Management

Yes, if I think I can help or at the request of buyer's agent, or my clients. Definitely attend appraisal visits and provide info.

Apr 24, 2016 09:07 AM
Rainmaker
5,767,421
Ron and Alexandra Seigel
Napa Consultants - Carpinteria, CA
Luxury Real Estate Branding, Marketing & Strategy

Lise,

Yes

Apr 24, 2016 08:41 AM
Rainmaker
868,148
Jeff Pearl
RE/MAX Distinctive / LIC in VA - Lovettsville, VA
Full Service Full Time Realtor

Not unless sellers requests it, usually for security reasons. otherwise, the buyers agent  usually attends with the buyer and inspector.

Apr 24, 2016 07:38 AM
Rainmaker
1,209,159
Amanda Christiansen
Christiansen Group Realty (260)704-0843 - Fort Wayne, IN
Christiansen Group Realty

No.  It's a waste of time.  I show up for the last 10 minutes of the inspections with my buyers, but not our sellers.  

Apr 24, 2016 06:48 AM
Rainmaker
1,425,100
Ryan Huggins - Thousand Oaks, CA
https://HugginsHomes.com - Thousand Oaks, CA
Residential Real Estate and Investment Properties

No.  That is for the buyer's and their agent to attend.  I'll let the inspector in and then I'm gone.  The only time I attend is if I'm representing both parties.

Apr 24, 2016 06:35 AM
Rainmaker
1,759,539
Lyn Sims
Schaumburg, IL
Real Estate Agent Retired

No, I'm sure they will send the boring report.

Apr 24, 2016 03:24 AM
Rainmaker
4,434,139
Nina Hollander, Broker
Coldwell Banker Realty - Charlotte, NC
Your Greater Charlotte Realtor

I do not attend; nor do my sellers. It's the buyer's inspection... and the inspection report is their intellectual property and in NC they have to give specific permission to release it to the sellers. Aside from that, if buyers attend there is no good rationale for them to possibly be exposed to me or the sellers. I wouldn't want that if I were representing the buyers either.

Apr 24, 2016 02:22 AM
Rainmaker
6,967,443
Roy Kelley
Retired - Gaithersburg, MD

It is a very good practice to attend.

Apr 24, 2016 01:59 AM
Rainmaker
914,708
Annette Lawrence , Palm Harbor, FL 727-420-4041
ReMax Realtec Group - Palm Harbor, FL
Making FLORIDA Real Estate EZ

Always present when ANYONE is in the home of the person who hired me to look after their best interests. That would include the home inspector.

The inspector needs to acknowledge and agree to the rules. (i.e. you will NOT be walking on that aluminum roof and if your name is Homer Teamey, you are not permitted on the property. The buyer's agent knows that.)

I will be present when the summary is presented and the findings explained. Part of the rules will be to describe 'what the fix looks like' should any item be found deficient.

Secondly, the inspector and the buyers agent must agree to the rules that include, I, and the seller do not want to see the report or receive a summary of the report.  The buyer and their agent has X days to present action based on the result of the report.

 

 

Apr 24, 2016 01:54 AM
Rainmaker
1,440,281
Raymond E. Camp
Ontario, NY
Licensed Real Estate Salesperson Greater Rochester

I will go is the buyer's agent will allow as it is easier to see a problem than to try and figure it out from a picture and someones notes.

Apr 24, 2016 01:26 AM