TeamCHI - Complete Home Inspections, Inc., Home Inspectons - Nashville, TN area - 615.661.029 (Complete Home Inspections, Inc.)

Spam prevention
Rainer
57,139
Jack Gerbehy
Egg Harbor Township, NJ
  • Do they inspect septic
  • In new construction do you offer a pre-sheet rock inspection... with discounted follow up? 
  •  House has no power.... what about the inspection
  • How does weather effect the inspection
Nov 29, 2015 06:27 PM
Rainmaker
2,806,095
Debbie Gartner
The Flooring Girl - White Plains, NY
The Flooring Girl & Blog Stylist -Dynamo Marketers

That's a good idea.  But the originals (as well as pdfs) should be on your WP site.

I'm too tired to think of ideas, but you should check out other inspector sites across the country for good ideas.  I'm sure the #1 q is how much does it cost?

 

Nov 29, 2015 08:13 PM
Ambassador
5,216,871
Bob Crane
Woodland Management Service / Woodland Real Estate, EXP - Stevens Point, WI
Forestland Experts! 715-204-9671

Sounds like a great plan Michael, this should generate some great seo and quite a few phone calls too.

Nov 30, 2015 07:03 AM
Rainmaker
5,570,665
Barbara Todaro
RE/MAX Executive Realty - Retired - Franklin, MA
Previously Affiliated with The Todaro Team

one topic that always surfaces is "evidence of mold"...that's a powdery, discoloration....in the attic space.... everyone panics....

Nov 29, 2015 09:47 PM
Rainmaker
1,201,111
Joyce Marsh
Joyce Marsh Real Estate LLC - Daytona Beach, FL
Joyce Marsh Real Estate LLC - Coast & Luxury

I would likely have information about average life expectancy for mechanicals and systems. 

Nov 29, 2015 08:57 PM
Rainer
171,023
Richard L. Sanderson
Richard L. Sanderson Consulting - Kalama, WA
helping improve local property tax systems

Michael Thornton - My suggestions are a series that demonstrates the various reasons why home inspections are needed (I'm a big fan, by the way) and another series that breaks down the myths about home inspections (for example they are not a real estate appraisal). Keep in mind that a good blog series can be turned into an e-book or publication that can have a useful life beyond the individual blog posts.

Nov 29, 2015 08:49 PM
Ambassador
4,091,861
Debe Maxwell, CRS
www.iCharlotteHomes.com | The Maxwell House Group | RE/MAX Executive | (704) 491-3310 - Charlotte, NC
The right Charlotte REALTOR!

Having an issue right now with local inspectors finding that the 'faux' stone (concrete) that is touching the ground is not applied properly.  The contractors and city/county inspectors are telling us that practice is fine. There are just some issues that routinely come up over and over (same issues) as though they've all attended a class on a particular topic and now they're all bringing it to the buyers' attention!  

Dec 11, 2016 03:10 PM
Rainmaker
2,410,469
Joe Petrowsky
Mortgage Consultant, Right Trac Financial Group, Inc. NMLS # 2709 - Manchester, CT
Your Mortgage Consultant for Life

Good morning Michael. What comes to mind is mold, the differences. There are many different types, many of which pose little health issues.

Nov 30, 2015 05:55 PM
Ambassador
4,312,167
Praful Thakkar
LAER Realty Partners - Andover, MA
Andover, MA: Andover Luxury Homes For Sale

Michael Thornton that's a great idea - to help consumers as well as we can learn from that. Let me see if I can come up with something...

One quick question - how many inspections we should have for new construction and at what stages?

Nov 30, 2015 03:32 PM
Rainmaker
591,654
David Gibson CNE, 719-304-4684 ~ Colorado Springs Relocation
Colorado Real Estate Advisers LLC - Colorado Springs, CO
Relocation, Luxury & Lifestyle residential

Michael,
A key for buyers is if the findings are “different” than can be expected on any other house. Buyers’ sometimes bail on the first inspection only to find that the same things are written up on almost all houses.

Nov 30, 2015 04:55 AM
Rainmaker
634,272
Kathleen Luiten
Resort and Second-Home Specialist - Princeville, HI
Kauai Luxury Ocean Home Sales

When is mold really a problem? (In the tropics there is mold that just takes normal cleaning and mold that is a real problem.)

Nov 30, 2015 03:33 AM
Rainmaker
3,958,612
Michael Jacobs
Pasadena, CA
Los Angeles Pasadena 818.516.4393

Cost of inspection?

What will be covered and what is not covered in an inspection?

Do/can you provide estimates of repairs/replacements of items noted in the inspection?

Regarding different issues/situations -- is this normal?  

Codes in 1900 homes versus new construction?

Why does every home inspection report include --- consult a licensed professional for further investigation?   

 

 

Nov 30, 2015 01:51 AM
Rainmaker
869,101
Candice A. Donofrio
Next Wave RE Investments LLC Bullhead City AZ Commercial RE Broker - Fort Mohave, AZ
928-201-4BHC (4242) call/text

Yeah - how do you make a clear distinction between 'cosmetic' and 'non-cosmetic' issues.

Nov 30, 2015 12:08 AM
Rainmaker
3,985,771
William Feela
WHISPERING PINES REALTY - North Branch, MN
Realtor, Whispering Pines Realty 651-674-5999 No.

I will have to think on this, but I come up with one I will ask.

Nov 29, 2015 11:31 PM
Rainmaker
3,069,684
Tony and Suzanne Marriott, Associate Brokers
Serving the Greater Phoenix and Scottsdale Metropolitan Area - Scottsdale, AZ
Haven Express @ Keller Williams Arizona Realty

10 years ago it appeared to be "all the rage" with home inspectors to look for the "high water loop" - something to do with a piece of tubing connecting the dishwasher to the garbage disposal?  "All the rage" these days seems to be looking for "water heater drip/drain pan".  Why wasn't the pan focused on 10 years ago?  It's not a code item.  The perception sometimes is that a home inspector is looking to find sufficient items to make the expense of their fee "worthwhile" to the Buyer - even if those items are not "code" items...

Nov 29, 2015 10:57 PM
Ambassador
1,565,345
John McCormack, CRS
Albuquerque Homes Realty - Albuquerque, NM
Honesty, Integrity, Results, Experienced. HIRE Me!

Can't think of anything right now.  

Nov 29, 2015 10:56 PM
Rainer
150,166
Michael Thacker - Re/Max Real Estate Center - Louisville
Re/Max Real Estate Center - The Thacker Group - Louisville, KY
Your best friend who just happens to be a Realtor

Maybe write a post so that the consumer understands that even when getting an inspection, it cannot guarantee no problems later. Its a house, and sometimes things fail, simple as that.

I know myself, I was confused about that when I bought my first home a billion years ago, and I know many of my clients are even now. 

Just a suggestion. Looking forward to reading your posts.

Michael

 

Michael Thacker - Louisville Realtor

Nov 29, 2015 10:31 PM
Rainmaker
4,736,785
Joan Cox
House to Home, Inc. - Denver Real Estate - 720-231-6373 - Denver, CO
Denver Real Estate - Selling One Home at a Time

My buyer are always worried about aluminum wiring, but electricians think it is not a huge deal.

Nov 29, 2015 10:19 PM
Rainmaker
6,370,065
Roy Kelley
Realty Group Referrals - Gaithersburg, MD

I like to see your blogs that offer practical suggestions for home owners.

Nov 29, 2015 08:59 PM
Rainmaker
4,433,483
Gita Bantwal
RE/MAX Centre Realtors - Warwick, PA
REALTOR,ABR,CRS,SRES,GRI - Bucks County & Philadel

I am looking forward to reading the posts.

Nov 29, 2015 08:53 PM
Rainmaker
4,021,713
Wayne Martin
Wayne M Martin - Chicago, IL
Real Estate Broker - Retired

Can't think of anything specifically. Looking forward to the posts!

Nov 29, 2015 08:32 PM
Rainmaker
1,965,147
Lise Howe
Keller Williams Capital Properties - Washington, DC
Assoc. Broker in DC, MD, VA and attorney in DC

what is involved in upgrading an electric panel box? 

Nov 29, 2015 07:40 PM
Rainer
213,163
Dennis Swartz
Full Circle Property Management - Columbus, OH
MBA, GRI...experience counts!

Looking forward to the posts!

Nov 29, 2015 06:27 PM