Ron and Alexandra Seigel, Luxury Real Estate Branding, Marketing & Strategy (Napa Consultants)

Spam prevention
Ambassador
1,338,270
Susan Emo
Sotheby's International Realty Canada - Brokerage - Kingston, ON
Kingston and the 1000 Islands Area

I believe there are people who ask "how's real estate these days?" and they're the same as the people that automatically say "how are you?"    To me that is just a space filler and they really could care less.  I get a kick out of people who actually start telling them exactly how they are, every symptom, pain, and heartache! 

When my clients are asking for real estate advice, they get the truth, the full truth and nothing but the truth

Nov 14, 2015 10:09 AM
Rainmaker
3,858,752
Michael Jacobs
Pasadena, CA
Los Angeles Pasadena 818.516.4393

When someone asks my professional opinion, I generally ask them some questions.

Will my opinion make a difference to your decision?

Have you made up your mind and do you want me to play devil's advocate?

Do I look like Lucy van Pelt(Charlie Brown's nemesis)?   And if so, the rate is no longer 5 cents.   So if you want to know, let's start that clock....

Nov 14, 2015 08:57 AM
Rainmaker
6,210,913
Roy Kelley
Realty Group Referrals - Gaithersburg, MD

I provide the best advice based on my experience but an not upset if they do not agree.

Nov 14, 2015 10:54 AM
Ambassador
3,986,387
Debbie Reynolds, C21 Platinum Properties
Platinum Properties- (931)771-9070 - Clarksville, TN
The Dedicated Clarksville TN Realtor-(931)320-6730

I think that depends. If they have their minds made up I think it will not change a thing. If it is subjective then they may consider what I have to say to weigh into their decision.

Nov 14, 2015 10:35 AM
Rainmaker
3,985,753
William Feela
WHISPERING PINES REALTY - North Branch, MN
Realtor, Whispering Pines Realty 651-674-5999 No.

I give it straight up  like it or not is up to them

Nov 14, 2015 10:23 AM
Ambassador
3,722,076
Patricia Kennedy
RLAH Real Estate - Washington, DC
Home in the Capital

That all depends on whether or not they are a client!  Clients get the real answer.

Nov 14, 2015 01:03 PM
Ambassador
2,223,992
Debbie Laity
Cedaredge Land Company - Cedaredge, CO
Your Real Estate Resource for Delta County, CO

I do have people that are sincere when they ask me this question, but a lot of times I get asked this as a way to get the conversation going. 

Nov 14, 2015 11:22 AM
Ambassador
1,554,435
John McCormack, CRS
Albuquerque Homes Realty - Albuquerque, NM
Honesty, Integrity, Results, Experienced. HIRE Me!

I'm a straight shooter like it or not.  It is what it is. 

Nov 14, 2015 10:08 PM
Rainmaker
3,766,855
Nina Hollander
Coldwell Banker Realty - Charlotte, NC
Your Charlotte/Ballantyne/Waxhaw/Fort Mill Realtor

I typically assume someone asked because they want to know the truth, so I always speak truthfully and frankly (albeit, diplomatically). My experience is that people remember you when they know they can trust you to speak the truth.

Nov 14, 2015 09:40 PM
Rainmaker
582,084
David Gibson CNE, 719-304-4684 ~ Colorado Springs Relocation
Colorado Real Estate Advisers LLC - Colorado Springs, CO
Relocation, Luxury & Lifestyle residential

Ron and Alexandra,
It can be hard to know why people are asking. I try to broaden the conversation so they don’t make a decision on that one point where they might be making a mistake.

Nov 14, 2015 09:50 AM
Rainmaker
1,613,947
Sandy Padula and Norm Padula, JD, GRI
HomeSmart Realty West & Lend Smart Mortgage, Llc. - Carlsbad, CA
Presence, Persistence & Perseverance

I always tell the straight-up truth. If they don't like the answer, then they can stop asking me for my opinion.

Nov 15, 2015 01:16 AM
Rainmaker
3,069,284
Tony and Suzanne Marriott, Associate Brokers
Serving the Greater Phoenix and Scottsdale Metropolitan Area - Scottsdale, AZ
Haven Express @ Keller Williams Arizona Realty

Candor is best!

Nov 15, 2015 12:06 AM
Rainmaker
2,595,020
Richie Alan Naggar
people first...then business Ran Right Realty - Riverside, CA
agent & author

People like their own opinions sometimes more than the truth itself

Nov 14, 2015 11:26 PM
Rainmaker
1,434,027
Michael Setunsky
Woodbridge, VA
Your Commercial Real Estate Link to Northern VA

Ron and Alexandra Seigel I usually tell them the truth.

Nov 14, 2015 10:59 PM
Rainmaker
1,360,357
Raymond E. Camp
Howard Hanna Real Estate Services - Ontario, NY
Licensed Real Estate Salesperson Greater Rochester

Honesty is the best policy even if the truth hurts.

Nov 14, 2015 10:22 PM
Rainmaker
1,946,860
Lise Howe
Keller Williams Capital Properties - Washington, DC
Assoc. Broker in DC, MD, VA and attorney in DC

a little of both. I try to give people permission to buy if that is what they want, but I also don't want to be on the record for a purchase if I don't think it is a good one. 

Nov 14, 2015 09:26 PM
Rainmaker
699,077
Chris and Dick Dovorany
Homes for Sale in Naples, Bonita Springs and Estero, Florida - Naples, FL
Broker/Associate at Premiere Plus Realty

I think it's called conversation and they really don't give a rats xxx.

Nov 14, 2015 08:43 PM
Rainmaker
4,433,283
Gita Bantwal
RE/MAX Centre Realtors - Warwick, PA
REALTOR,ABR,CRS,SRES,GRI - Bucks County & Philadel

I provide my opinion based on my experience and they appreciate it.

Nov 14, 2015 08:40 PM
Rainmaker
846,120
Marco Giancola
Beachfront Realty - Miami Beach, FL
Realtor (305)608-1922, Miami Beach Florida

I know how to play that game pretty well. It is fairly easy to be honest and give the buyer what they want to hear-it's called selling!

Nov 14, 2015 08:24 PM
Rainmaker
3,889,982
Wayne Martin
Wayne M Martin - Chicago, IL
Real Estate Broker - Retired

The truth wins out on a direct question. As for opinion, after many years in the business, I ask what they think first!

Nov 14, 2015 08:23 PM
Rainer
42,470
Fred Hafdelin
Weichert Realtors - Mountain Lakes, NJ

I tell them the truth.

Nov 14, 2015 07:52 PM
Ambassador
2,759,312
TeamCHI - Complete Home Inspections, Inc.
Complete Home Inspections, Inc. - Brentwood, TN
Home Inspectons - Nashville, TN area - 615.661.029

 Good Sunday morning Ron & Alexandria. I give them the best advice I can give them based on the situation.

Nov 14, 2015 06:36 PM
Rainmaker
2,385,593
Joe Petrowsky
Mortgage Consultant, Right Trac Financial Group, Inc. NMLS # 2709 - Manchester, CT
Your Mortgage Consultant for Life

Good morning A & R. Yes, I would answer the question, but wouldn't be willing to share information that wasn't truthful, even if would cost me a sale.

Nov 14, 2015 05:20 PM
Rainmaker
849,035
Troy Erickson AZ Realtor (602) 295-6807
Good Company Real Estate - Chandler, AZ
Your Chandler, Ahwatukee, and East Valley Realtor

Ron and Alexandra - I tell it like it is, always the truth, at least my opinion, because that is what they asked for. I do think people often want me to approve or agree with them, but that is not what they are going to get with me. I will only agree if I truly agree with them.

Nov 14, 2015 01:55 PM
Ambassador
1,771,155
Noah Seidenberg
Coldwell Banker - Evanston, IL
Chicagoland and Suburbs (800) 858-7917

So many people around town know what I do for a living Ron & Alexandra and I always get "so how is the market" nearly everywhere I go so you have to wonder. Is that the same as talking about the weather? Do people really care?

Nov 14, 2015 12:14 PM
Ambassador
5,074,626
Bob Crane
Woodland Management Service / Woodland Real Estate, Keller Williams Fox Cities - Stevens Point, WI
Forestland Experts! 715-204-9671

I give my honest opinion, why mislead them by giving anything else

Nov 14, 2015 11:58 AM
Rainer
68,795
Sandra Graves
Keller Williams Realty - Folsom, CA
Realtor

I believe a little bit of both. Some people really want to know, and some just use it as a conversation question. 

Nov 14, 2015 11:54 AM
Rainmaker
1,123,223
Sam Shueh
(408) 425-1601 - San Jose, CA
mba, cdpe, reopro, pe

Conversation topic to get a realtor talk...

How is business? How many sales you have this week?  Have you been harassed as a man? Are you divorced so you are single also? blah blah blah....

Nov 14, 2015 11:53 AM
Rainmaker
1,682,789
Larry Johnston
Broker, Friends & Neighbors Real Estate and Elkhart County Subdivisions, LLC - Elkhart, IN
Broker,Friends & Neighbors Real Estate, Elkhart,IN

Many times they are just asking for approval.

Nov 14, 2015 10:17 AM
Rainmaker
2,441,861
Evelyn Johnston
Friends & Neighbors Real Estate - Elkhart, IN
The People You Know, Like and Trust!

I believe they want to know the truth.

Nov 14, 2015 09:49 AM
Rainmaker
4,600,925
Joan Cox
House to Home, Inc. - Denver Real Estate - 720-231-6373 - Denver, CO
Denver Real Estate - Selling One Home at a Time

Depending on the opinion needed, schools - no way that is their decision, what home if there are two in the running and they love both, I will offer an opinion.  Sometimes they take it, sometimes they don't.

Nov 14, 2015 09:23 AM
Rainmaker
1,730,139
Rob Thomas
Prestige Homes of The Tri Cities, Inc. CALL....423-341-6954 - Bristol, TN
Bristol TN-VA & Tri Cities Agent, ABR, GRI, e-Pro

I think most people want to hear what they want to hear ....but if you explain the answer properly then they come over to your side ....

Nov 20, 2015 09:13 AM
Rainmaker
3,239,659
John Pusa
Berkshire Hathaway Home Services Crest - Glendale, CA
Your All Time Realtor With Exceptional Service

Ron and Alexandra Seigel I think, it depends on the question. Very good question.

Nov 15, 2015 12:50 PM
Rainmaker
4,799,256
Gabe Sanders
Real Estate of Florida specializing in Martin County Residential Homes, Condos and Land Sales - Stuart, FL
Stuart Florida Real Estate

Typically they are looking for affirmation of their own beliefs, though I try to sneak in the truth in the most palatable way.

Nov 15, 2015 04:41 AM
Rainmaker
1,345,213
Ryan Huggins - Thousand Oaks, CA
https://HugginsHomes.com - Thousand Oaks, CA
Residential Real Estate and Investment Properties

It depends on the person and the question.  I think generally people really do want a legit answer not just a sugar coated answer.

Nov 15, 2015 04:28 AM
Rainmaker
5,553,204
Barbara Todaro
RE/MAX Executive Realty - Retired - Franklin, MA
Previously Affiliated with The Todaro Team

I give them the honest answer as I see it....if they want it sugar coated, they shouldn't be asking me.... 

Nov 15, 2015 02:42 AM
Rainmaker
1,508,825
Inna Ivchenko
Barcode Properties - Encino, CA
Realtor® • Green • GRI • HAFA • PSC Calabasas CA

Often neither of that. People often ask about real estate as soon as you mention what you do for living. Does not mean they care or need to know, but it is a good conversation starter:)

Nov 14, 2015 04:00 PM