TeamCHI - Complete Home Inspections, Inc., Home Inspectons - Nashville, TN area - 615.661.029 (Complete Home Inspections, Inc.)

Spam prevention
Rainmaker
3,912,101
Nina Hollander, Broker
Coldwell Banker Realty - Charlotte, NC
Your Greater Charlotte Realtor

Absolutely! I remind my clients that the county inspector is not representing them and is only looking for certain code items. I would say that 9 out of 10 clients take my advice and have a pre-drywall inspection and then a final inspection once we are ready for our walk-through.

Jul 06, 2015 09:23 PM
Rainmaker
846,275
Marco Giancola
Beachfront Realty - Miami Beach, FL
Realtor (305)608-1922, Miami Beach Florida

Pay for the inspection and get some peace of mind. In the past we have uncovered problems code inspectors missed.

Jul 06, 2015 08:39 PM
Rainmaker
1,624,472
Sandy Padula and Norm Padula, JD, GRI
HomeSmart Realty West & Lend Smart Mortgage, Llc. - Carlsbad, CA
Presence, Persistence & Perseverance

Michael Thornton Having worked for a national production builder many years ago and having built many homes as a contractor, I always recommend my buyers have a licensed home inspection prior to closing their new home purchase. And on every occasion, issues are identified!

Jul 06, 2015 09:03 PM
Rainer
273,909
Curtis Evans
Cabin Realty LLC/ USA, Licensed in Louisiana - Golden Meadow, LA

There is no perfect house, get the inspection.

Jul 06, 2015 08:31 PM
Ambassador
1,565,645
John McCormack, CRS
Albuquerque Homes Realty - Albuquerque, NM
Honesty, Integrity, Results, Experienced. HIRE Me!

Oh yes we get our own home inspection on new construction.

Jul 06, 2015 11:20 PM
Rainmaker
3,533,065
James Dray
Fathom Realty - Bentonville, AR
Exceptional Agents, Outstanding Results

Always, always. always  hands down I urge them to get a home inspection.  

Jul 06, 2015 09:21 PM
Rainer
66,214
Evelyn M Epperson
Coldwell Banker Residential Brokerage - Johns Creek, GA
A Tradition Of [Excellence, Trust & Service]

I worked for builders for 20 years.  I tell all my customers to get an inspection.  Most builder will short cut something.

Jul 07, 2015 04:16 AM
Rainmaker
4,740,870
Joan Cox
House to Home, Inc. - Denver Real Estate - 720-231-6373 - Denver, CO
Denver Real Estate - Selling One Home at a Time

I sell many new homes, and suggest the buyers do the inspection at 10 1/2 months, so they have a list for the 12 month warranty for the builder.

Jul 07, 2015 01:09 AM
Rainmaker
699,077
Chris and Dick Dovorany
Homes for Sale in Naples, Bonita Springs and Estero, Florida - Naples, FL
Broker/Associate at Premiere Plus Realty

I haven't in the past but it does seem like a good idea.  Another good idea is to bomb the house with bug bombs before moving in just to get rid of all those little critters who have moved in from their place of origin.

Jul 06, 2015 11:35 PM
Rainmaker
3,298,005
Scott Godzyk
Godzyk Real Estate Services - Manchester, NH
One of the Manchester NH's area Leading Agents

I always recomend an insoection for new contstruction but by an inspector experienced with new homes. Often ther6e are items found, the city inspectors do not always inspect but glance.

Jul 06, 2015 10:49 PM
Rainmaker
2,472,519
Captain Wayne - Rowlett Real Estate School
Rowlett Real Estate School - Panama City, FL
Rowlett Real Estate School / Owner and Instructor

I think a home inspection is always in order no matter what.

Jul 06, 2015 10:06 PM
Rainmaker
3,877,807
Richard Weeks
Dallas, TX
REALTOR®, Broker

I highly encourage them to have new construction inspections.  Actually 2 to 3 inspections would be ideal.

Jul 06, 2015 09:35 PM
Ambassador
1,243,141
Joni Bailey
101 Main St. Realty - Huntsville, TX
Your Huntsville / Lake Livingston Area REALTOR®

ALWAYS! It is absolutely CrAzY not too.

Jul 07, 2015 05:36 AM
Rainmaker
213,944
Melanie Cameron
Coldwell Banker Sea Coast Advantage - Wilmington, NC
The Cameron Team

I always inform them that they have the option and the reasons why they might want to do it, but rarely do they.

Jul 07, 2015 05:22 AM
Rainmaker
212,655
Stefan Winter
Real Estate in IL & NV | Owner of Real Estate Web Tech | Daily Vlogger - Las Vegas, NV
Owner - Winter Group & Real Estate Web Tech

Always do, people love taking short cuts for some reasons especially in the builder homes.

Jul 07, 2015 04:12 AM
Rainmaker
4,799,356
Gabe Sanders
Real Estate of Florida specializing in Martin County Residential Homes, Condos and Land Sales - Stuart, FL
Stuart Florida Real Estate

I always recommend an inspection for new homes, Michael.

Jul 07, 2015 03:58 AM
Ambassador
4,312,167
Praful Thakkar
LAER Realty Partners - Andover, MA
Andover, MA: Andover Luxury Homes For Sale

Michael Thornton  - well, I have a buyer buying new construction now and already have scheduled the home inspection before closing!

This is one item there should be no compromise.

Jul 07, 2015 03:26 AM
Rainmaker
6,375,315
Roy Kelley
Realty Group Referrals - Gaithersburg, MD

I would always recommend a home inspection but the decision us up to the purchasers.

Jul 07, 2015 02:45 AM
Rainmaker
3,961,251
Michael Jacobs
Pasadena, CA
Los Angeles Pasadena 818.516.4393

get a home inspection.

Jul 07, 2015 01:07 AM
Rainer
4,266
Teresa Gorji
Top Team Properties - Siesta Key, FL
Culture and Luxury combined - Sarasota, FL

Though buyers of new construction homes are typically given walk through inspections prior to close, even the most meticulous, construction savvy buyer can and will miss even simple things, like outlets that don't work or even a switched hot and cold handle.  But more importantly, it is crucial that a buyer engage a licensed non-biased inspector, if not for peace of mind, then simply to catch the fact that the attic has no light....that's what happened to me!  Ditto to Nina Hollander's comment too!

Jul 07, 2015 12:56 AM
Rainmaker
5,372,332
Ron and Alexandra Seigel
Napa Consultants - Carpinteria, CA
Luxury Real Estate Branding, Marketing & Strategy

Michael,

I would definitely recommend that a new building or home be inspected.  A

Jul 07, 2015 12:26 AM
Rainer
6,567
Carrie Perry
ReBroker - Irvine, CA
I am a Real Estate Agent in California.

Fiduciary tells me to Inform my Clients Fully.

Jul 10, 2015 06:51 AM
Rainer
2,970
Sheryl Chase
Sea Coast Exclusive Properties - Encinitas, CA
In-depth knowledge north coastal market.

I would tell them to get one.  Builders leave things undone, at times, whether or not the home has passed codes on electrical, plumbing, etc.  An inspector will find incomplete or shoddy workmanship that can be questioned.  New homes can have problems too.

Jul 08, 2015 09:05 AM
Ambassador
1,628,689
Florida Tolbert Team Keller Williams Advantage
Keller Williams Advantage III Realty in Lake Nona - Orlando, FL
Keller Williams Land Luxury Division Specialist

Absolutely.   Some builders take offense, but too many times things are missed and better an inspector do the punch list than the buyer.  

Jul 07, 2015 09:54 AM
Rainmaker
5,570,688
Barbara Todaro
RE/MAX Executive Realty - Retired - Franklin, MA
Previously Affiliated with The Todaro Team

we are listing agents so we do not guide the buyers on that topic....if we were buyer agents, they would have an inspection....

Jul 06, 2015 09:44 PM