Joe  Petrowsky, Your Mortgage Consultant for Life (Mortgage Consultant, Right Trac Financial Group, Inc. NMLS # 2709)

Spam prevention
Rainmaker
1,624,472
Sandy Padula and Norm Padula, JD, GRI
HomeSmart Realty West & Lend Smart Mortgage, Llc. - Carlsbad, CA
Presence, Persistence & Perseverance

Never, This is a liability issue.

Jul 06, 2015 09:04 PM
Rainmaker
699,077
Chris and Dick Dovorany
Homes for Sale in Naples, Bonita Springs and Estero, Florida - Naples, FL
Broker/Associate at Premiere Plus Realty

For the most part I don't put much stock in the home inspections in my area.  They're visual.  I know how to turn on a dishwasher to see if it works and to buy a temperature gauge at Home Depot to see the a/c temp.  Unless individual professionals are hired for specific inspections I see very little need, again I say "in my area".

Jul 06, 2015 11:37 PM
Ambassador
1,565,645
John McCormack, CRS
Albuquerque Homes Realty - Albuquerque, NM
Honesty, Integrity, Results, Experienced. HIRE Me!

No.  Even on a bank owned a home inspection is done to see what problems they're walking into.

Jul 06, 2015 11:21 PM
Rainmaker
869,411
Annette Lawrence , Palm Harbor, FL 727-420-4041
ReMax Realtec Group - Palm Harbor, FL
Making FLORIDA Real Estate EZ

Yes, if the buyer intent was to demolish the home.

Yes, if the house condition was so damaged (sinkhole) that demolishing was the only choice.

Yes, if I conveyed and the buyer/seller agreed the only acceptable outcome is to demolish the building.

Yes, if the cost of the inspection exceeded the value of the property.

However I would never use the words "I recommend...."

Jul 06, 2015 10:04 PM
Rainmaker
5,570,688
Barbara Todaro
RE/MAX Executive Realty - Retired - Franklin, MA
Previously Affiliated with The Todaro Team

only if the buyer was buying it to tear down!!!!

Jul 06, 2015 09:45 PM
Ambassador
2,759,387
TeamCHI - Complete Home Inspections, Inc.
Complete Home Inspections, Inc. - Brentwood, TN
Home Inspectons - Nashville, TN area - 615.661.029

Good Tuesday morning Joe. I cannot think of any scenario that would warrant no one having an inspection. Interesting question though.

Jul 06, 2015 07:25 PM
Rainmaker
3,961,251
Michael Jacobs
Pasadena, CA
Los Angeles Pasadena 818.516.4393

Hi Joe -- we even have a disclosure that is signed should a buyer ever decide not to conduct a home inspection.  

Jul 07, 2015 01:08 AM
Rainmaker
1,445,227
Michael Setunsky
Woodbridge, VA
Your Commercial Real Estate Link to Northern VA

Joe Petrowsky No and if the client doesn't want one, I would ask them to sign a waiver. Selective client memory loss will come back and bite you.

Jul 06, 2015 11:49 PM
Rainmaker
832,368
Jeff Pearl
RE/MAX Distinctive / LIC in VA - Lovettsville, VA
Full Service Full Time Realtor

Yes, if it's a teardown, or if the buyer is a builder or contractor and knows what is involved in a partial demo and remodel.

Jul 06, 2015 10:16 PM
Rainmaker
3,877,157
Richard Weeks
Dallas, TX
REALTOR®, Broker

No.  Inspections, title insurance and new survey are always recommended.

Jul 06, 2015 09:36 PM
Rainmaker
3,912,101
Nina Hollander, Broker
Coldwell Banker Realty - Charlotte, NC
Your Greater Charlotte Realtor

I can't think of a time when I would have recommended that. Wouldn't want the liability if after the sale something goes horribly wrong and the buyers' defense is that I told them not to bother! I suppose if someone is buying a tear-down that may be a reason, but haven't done one of these ever.

Jul 06, 2015 09:25 PM
Rainmaker
3,533,065
James Dray
Fathom Realty - Bentonville, AR
Exceptional Agents, Outstanding Results

short answer no

Jul 06, 2015 09:22 PM
Rainmaker
3,605,517
Lawrence "Larry" & Sheila Agranoff. Cell: 631-805-4400
The Top Team @ Charles Rutenberg Realty 255 Executive Dr, Plainview NY 11803 - Plainview, NY
Long Island Condo and Home Specialists

Never!

Jul 06, 2015 09:09 PM
Rainer
1,210
Beth Kerwin
Keller Williams Realty - Everett, WA
Residential Specialist and Accredited Buyer's Rep

I always recommend a home inspection, but the decision is up to the Buyer's whether they will get one, or who will conduct the inspection.

Jul 08, 2015 08:07 AM
Rainmaker
364,161
Joshua Frederick
Home Inspector for ASPEC Residential Services, LLC - Defiance, OH
Home Inspector in Defiance & all of Northwest Ohio

Like Chris and Dick said, they're a waste of everyone's time.  I would verbally tell them they don't need one, have them sign a waiver, & then see them at the closing table.  Easy peasy lemon squeezy. Tell them to spend their $300+ on something they can actually use for their new home, like a Keurig or some higher end kitchen cabinet knobs and handles. 

Jul 07, 2015 08:54 PM
Ambassador
2,224,067
Debbie Laity
Cedaredge Land Company - Cedaredge, CO
Your Real Estate Resource for Delta County, CO

I always recommend my buyers get a home inspection. 

Jul 07, 2015 12:32 PM
Rainer
177,228
Cheryl Dukes . . . . . Intown Atlanta
Solid Source Realty, Inc. - Atlanta, GA

Yes, if the buyer was an investor and had done this a time or 2 before and knew what to look for, OR if he was going to tear down and rebuild, I'd tell the buyer to skip the licensed inspection, unless there was a clear need for it (like a gas station previously sat on the site).

Jul 07, 2015 12:28 PM
Rainmaker
601,762
Pat Starnes-Front Gate Realty
Front Gate Real Estate - Brandon, MS
601-991-2900 Office; 601-278-4513 Cell

I've worked with investors who didn't want a home inspection because they were buying the property "as is with all it's faults". I have a waiver for these instances. 

Jul 07, 2015 10:33 AM
Rainmaker
212,655
Stefan Winter
Real Estate in IL & NV | Owner of Real Estate Web Tech | Daily Vlogger - Las Vegas, NV
Owner - Winter Group & Real Estate Web Tech

No, even if it is as-is, how can you know what "is" you are buying without one. Always get it done, from new construction to 100 year old barns.

Jul 07, 2015 04:14 AM
Rainer
66,214
Evelyn M Epperson
Coldwell Banker Residential Brokerage - Johns Creek, GA
A Tradition Of [Excellence, Trust & Service]

Never

Jul 07, 2015 03:35 AM
Ambassador
4,312,167
Praful Thakkar
LAER Realty Partners - Andover, MA
Andover, MA: Andover Luxury Homes For Sale

Joe Petrowsky - I don't think there is any reason NOT to do home inspection! May be when it's total tear down home for an investor?

Jul 07, 2015 03:28 AM
Rainmaker
6,375,315
Roy Kelley
Realty Group Referrals - Gaithersburg, MD

I have sold hundreds of homes that had no home inspection but I would never recommend against an inspection if one is desired by the purchasers.

Jul 07, 2015 01:59 AM
Rainmaker
379,689
Cindy Davis
SD Home Source Realty - San Diego, CA

I have my buyers do a home inspection ALWAYS.

Jul 07, 2015 01:16 AM
Rainmaker
1,379,764
Raymond E. Camp
Howard Hanna Real Estate Services - Ontario, NY
Licensed Real Estate Salesperson Greater Rochester

Only on rehab's.

Jul 06, 2015 11:51 PM
Rainmaker
2,472,519
Captain Wayne - Rowlett Real Estate School
Rowlett Real Estate School - Panama City, FL
Rowlett Real Estate School / Owner and Instructor

I've never heard of any circumstance to not have a home inspection.

Jul 06, 2015 10:07 PM