Paul S.  Henderson, REALTOR®, CRS, South Puget Sound Washington Agent/Broker! (Fathom Realty Washington LLC)

Spam prevention
Rainmaker
821,950
Annette Lawrence , Palm Harbor, FL 727-420-4041
ReMax Realtec Group - Palm Harbor, FL
Making FLORIDA Real Estate EZ

Of course I ask. "As Is" does not mean don't ask for repairs. "As Is" means the seller is not OBLIGATED to make repairs. 

AS IS does not necessarily relate to the condition of the property but is a instrument to limit seller obligation.

Do I ask?  You bet!

Jun 16, 2015 11:30 PM
Rainmaker
5,388,650
Barbara Todaro
RE/MAX Executive Realty - Retired - Franklin, MA
Previously Affiliated with The Todaro Team

yes, and we prepare our sellers for that to happen.... everything's always negotiable....it doesn't matter if the listing says "as is".... we've sold bank owned and that's supposedly "as is" ALWAYS.... well, if they want it gone, they spend a couple of more dollars and fix a thing or two!!! and they did....

Jun 16, 2015 11:27 PM
Ambassador
1,531,961
John McCormack, CRS
Albuquerque Homes Realty - Albuquerque, NM
Honesty, Integrity, Results, Experienced. HIRE Me!

If that's what the buyer tells me to do absolutely yes.

Jun 16, 2015 11:20 PM
Rainmaker
3,494,180
Nina Hollander
Coldwell Banker Realty - Charlotte, NC
Your Charlotte/Ballantyne/Waxhaw/Fort Mill Realtor

In NC, technically all contracts are "as is." But that doesn't stop anyone asking for certain repairs and I do as well. (Except on foreclosures and short sales).

Jun 16, 2015 11:22 PM
Ambassador
1,706,708
Joe Pryor
The Virtual Real Estate Team - Oklahoma City, OK
REALTOR® - Oklahoma Investment Properties

I never write as is contracts. Instead I do zero repairs subject to buyer acceptance of inspection report. That way big ticket problems can protect my client.

Jun 17, 2015 03:32 AM
Rainmaker
3,676,349
Michael Jacobs
Pasadena, CA
Los Angeles Pasadena 818.516.4393

Hi Paul -- it depends.  

Our state of California standard purchase agreements clearly state that all properties are sold in "as is" condition and this has not stopped buyers from asking for either repairs, credits or price reductions after a home inspection or for absolutely no reason at all.

An upfront discussion on this subject is a must for buyers and sellers.   What happens depends on a particular property and the circumstances surrounding the transaction.   Each sale is a bit different just like the people involved.  

Jun 17, 2015 01:39 AM
Rainer
60,591
Renee Paray
Coldwell Banker Preferred - Blue Bell, PA
REALTOR

I will always ask as it is in my clients best interest. I let the client know ahead of time that occassionally, the seller cannot financially make any repairs to the property, but it is always worth asking. 

Jun 17, 2015 01:22 AM
Rainmaker
392,963
Bill Dandridge
MKB, Realtors - Roanoke, VA
GREEN, ABR, GRI, EcoBroker

I would if there were large defects that were found during the inspection. Although as listing might be presented for sale "as is," I have always read this to mean that they did not want to make any repairs during the sale process. This does not preclude me from asking the owners to adjust the contract price down to reflect the repairs that need to be completed.

Jun 17, 2015 01:16 AM
Rainmaker
175,414
Spirit Messingham
Tierra Antigua Realty - Tucson, AZ
Third Generation Full-Time Realtor® 520 471-6900

Of course a buyer can.  The "as-is" addendum really just removed the warranted items.  A buyer can and should still have their full inspection period (here in AZ it is 10 days unless stated otherwise on purchase contract).  I encourage the buyer to ask for any of their items of concerns.   That is just it, it is THEIR concerns, not ours.   Sure, most sellers do not entertain much because of the "as-is", but it is the buyers right to ask and they get to decide if they want to cancel or accept once we receive the sellers response to the buyers inpsection report.  I once got a bank on a REO to replace Poly plumbing (they gave a $5K credit).  I didnt think we had a chance of getting it, and we were all surprised when they agreed.

Jun 17, 2015 12:24 AM
Rainmaker
5,883,760
Roy Kelley
Realty Group Referrals - Gaithersburg, MD

The majority of purchasers want the repairs done by a licensed contractor.

Jun 17, 2015 12:21 AM
Rainmaker
1,051,244
Kevin J. May
Florida Supreme Realty - Hobe Sound, FL
Serving the Treasure & Paradise Coasts of Florida

Certainly, if you don't ask you know you'll get nothing so it's always worth a try.

Jun 17, 2015 12:15 AM
Rainer
222,676
Richard Robibero, e-Pro, ABR, SRS
Panorama R.E. Limited - Toronto, ON
Selling Your Home as if it were My Own!

Yes.  We can ask for anything we want. "As is" usually indicates the home is not up to "standards" but not always. That being said I won't list a gorgeous property with no issues "as is" even if the seller is not willing to pay for anything. It puts an idea in the buyer's mind that doesn't ned to be there.

I won't hold my breath to have a window repaired however.

Jun 16, 2015 11:57 PM
Rainmaker
1,592,130
Sandy Padula and Norm Padula, JD, GRI
HomeSmart Realty West & Lend Smart Mortgage, Llc. - Carlsbad, CA
Presence, Persistence & Perseverance

You bet, otherwise the buyer will walk away. It is all about representing our buyers, and keeping the contract alive if the buyers really want the home. Everything is negotiable up to closing within the confines of the 'four-corners' of the contract.

Jun 16, 2015 11:55 PM
Rainmaker
699,027
Chris and Dick Dovorany
Homes for Sale in Naples, Bonita Springs and Estero, Florida - Naples, FL
Broker/Associate at Premiere Plus Realty

Absolutely.  Read Barbara Jo's blog for today.

Jun 16, 2015 11:40 PM
Rainmaker
3,985,581
William Feela
WHISPERING PINES REALTY - North Branch, MN
Realtor, Whispering Pines Realty 651-674-5999 No.

Not unless the lenders wants them...My clients understand that as iis means no repairs.

Jun 17, 2015 06:27 AM
Rainer
112,847
Vera Gonzalez
RE/MAX Suburban, Inc. - Sterling Heights, MI
Gonzo For Real Estate

Yes , yes and yes . You work for the buyer:)

Jun 17, 2015 04:19 AM
Rainmaker
1,411,327
Michael Setunsky
Woodbridge, VA
Your Commercial Real Estate Link to Northern VA

Paul S. Henderson, Realtor, Tacoma Washington Since everything is negotiable, I would recommend the buyer ask. In my state we have walk-through items that have to be in working condition to close.

Jun 17, 2015 03:02 AM
Rainmaker
4,798,831
Gabe Sanders
Real Estate of Florida specializing in Martin County Residential Homes, Condos and Land Sales - Stuart, FL
Stuart Florida Real Estate

If the inspection issue is something that was not disclosed and wasn't readily apparent and is an issue, than yes, we will ask for repairs.

Jun 17, 2015 02:19 AM
Rainmaker
381,102
Jill Murty, Realtor - Orange County, CA
Sunset Properties, Powered by Movoto - Laguna Niguel, CA

I advise buyers that they can ask for repairs but to expect none.  As Michael Jacobs said, properties in our state are sold "as is".

Jun 17, 2015 02:16 AM
Rainmaker
346,689
Cindy Davis
SD Home Source Realty - San Diego, CA

I have, when the issues are significant. I'd rather ask and see what the selles will do before canceling.

Jun 17, 2015 02:04 AM