Spam prevention
Rainer
87,333
Christina Botteri
REeBroker - Roseville, CA

An inspection report is a terrific source document that explains the nature and location of defects throughout the property, so yes - absolutely share it with your Seller when you're asking for repairs.

Mar 25, 2015 03:24 AM
Rainmaker
629,751
Ajay Pandya
e-Merge Real Estate - Columbus, OH
Realtor Ajay Pandya

If needed, yes.

Mar 18, 2018 09:14 AM
Rainmaker
3,649,982
Michael Jacobs
Pasadena, CA
Los Angeles Pasadena 818.516.4393

Hi Gary -- If I was a seller and a buyer was asking for repairs or credits, I would expect to see a report.   How could I intelligently address the request without it. Many buyers look at the inspection as a time to re-negotiate the purchase agreement.

Mar 25, 2015 02:07 AM
Ambassador
4,704,815
Bob Crane
Woodland Management Service / Woodland Real Estate, Keller Williams Fox Cities - Stevens Point, WI
Forestland Experts! 715-204-9671

It is a requirement if serving notice of repairs.

Jan 09, 2020 06:04 PM
Ambassador
4,306,594
Praful Thakkar
LAER Realty Partners - Andover, MA
Andover, MA: Andover Luxury Homes For Sale

If needed, share it.

Apr 03, 2018 10:42 PM
Rainmaker
3,064,754
Tony and Suzanne Marriott, Associate Brokers
Serving the Greater Phoenix and Scottsdale Metropolitan Area - Scottsdale, AZ
Haven Express @ Keller Williams Arizona Realty

Always.  Per our contract.

Aug 05, 2017 04:10 AM
Ambassador
3,985,140
Debbie Reynolds
Platinum Properties - Clarksville, TN
Your Dedicated Clarksville TN Real Estate Agent

In my area if you are requestiong repairs and they ask for a copy you are to furnish it.

Nov 20, 2016 07:59 AM
Rainer
11,995
Gary Branscombe
Realtypath LLC - Advantage - Salt Lake City, UT
Your Preferred Realtor in the Salt Lake City Area

Thanks for your answers everyone. I think it is a good idea to share myself wth Buyers permission of course

Mar 27, 2015 03:31 AM
Rainmaker
812,352
Bruce Walter
Keller Williams Realty Lafayette/West Lafayette, Indiana - West Lafayette, IN

I think it is a good idea to forward the entire inspection report especially when there is a mile long list of safety or material defects and the buyer is only concerned about have four or five items repaired.  Most sellers feel fortunate that the buyer did not ask for more when they see the full 38 page report.

Mar 25, 2015 08:49 PM
Rainmaker
1,506,511
Inna Ivchenko
Barcode Properties - Encino, CA
Realtor® • Green • GRI • HAFA • PSC Calabasas CA

I always share the reports, especially if I request for repairs based on that report( unless, it is an appraisal that came way above the negotiated price).

Mar 25, 2015 05:31 PM
Rainmaker
1,680,021
Larry Johnston
Broker, Friends & Neighbors Real Estate and Elkhart County Subdivisions, LLC - Elkhart, IN
Broker,Friends & Neighbors Real Estate, Elkhart,IN

The Buyers paid for the report, not the sellers.  Let them buy their own report.  Just ask for the repairs.

Mar 25, 2015 02:12 PM
Rainmaker
634,116
Kathleen Luiten
Resort and Second-Home Specialist - Princeville, HI
Kauai Luxury Ocean Home Sales

I think it is a mistake not to share it if requesting repairs.

Mar 25, 2015 10:41 AM
Ambassador
2,209,455
Debbie Laity
Cedaredge Land Company - Cedaredge, CO
Your Real Estate Resource for Delta County, CO

When I have buyers asking for repairs, I share the report. When I have sellers that are being asked to do repairs, I want to see the inspection report. 

Mar 25, 2015 09:42 AM
Rainer
508,970
S. Leanne Paynter ☼ Broward County, FL
United Realty Group, Inc. - Davie, FL
Davie, Plantation, Cooper City & Weston Specialist

If you're asking for repairs, you'd better be prepared to provide the listing agent with a copy of the inspection report.

Mar 25, 2015 07:40 AM
Ambassador
1,706,647
Joe Pryor
The Virtual Real Estate Team - Oklahoma City, OK
REALTOR® - Oklahoma Investment Properties

That is a contract requirement in Oklahoma. Kind of a strange question unless you are from a state with no repairs.

Mar 25, 2015 07:37 AM
Rainmaker
784,946
Jeff Pearl
RE/MAX Distinctive / LIC in VA - Lovettsville, VA
Full Service Full Time Realtor

If buyer is asking for repairs, we provide entire report to listing agent/sellers.

Mar 25, 2015 07:17 AM
Rainmaker
3,985,569
William Feela
WHISPERING PINES REALTY - North Branch, MN
Realtor, Whispering Pines Realty 651-674-5999 No.

First, you need the ermisssion of the buyer who actually owns the report.  It can make your case if you are not believed.

Mar 25, 2015 06:42 AM
Rainmaker
817,075
Annette Lawrence , Palm Harbor, FL 727-420-4041
ReMax Realtec Group - Palm Harbor, FL
Making FLORIDA Real Estate EZ

PUNT!

That is what I did when the buyer's agent requested a $3,000 price consession based on the results of the inspection report. No repair list. No inspection cover page, No repair report. 

Perhaps that agent could hear me laughing across the many miles that separated us. No concession or repair was considered.

Today, the buyer agent submitted a detailed repair list, no inspection cover letter or inspection report. My contractor verified the need for repair and the seller will have it done.

There are many ways to address repair concerns, but all of them require precise language and clear directives. The inspection report is not mandatory.

Mar 25, 2015 06:23 AM
Rainer
6,865
John Enxing
Real Estate Advisor Group - Slidell, LA

Not like an Appraisal Report where confidentiality is upheld, the Inspection Report has the info documented in need of repairs (disclosed defects). Although paid by the buyer, it would be a wise move to let the seller review just in fact what the buyer is asking for in repairs.

A courtesy, and professional way of doing business. Great post and discussion by everyone, thanks......

Mar 25, 2015 06:02 AM
Rainmaker
479,439
Lana Robbins Realtor ® Licensed Real Estate Broker
Aloha Kai Real Estate - Clearwater, FL
Licensed in Florida, Washington, and Hawai'i

Hi Gary. If the buyer paid for the inspection then it's their property. If I represent the seller I ask for a copy of it especially if there is a contigency per successful home inspection.

Mar 25, 2015 05:51 AM
Rainmaker
280,399
Jeanne Gregory
RE/MAX Southwest - Sugar Land, TX
The most important home I sell is YOURS!

Definitely. Why wouldn't you?

Mar 25, 2015 05:42 AM
Rainer
45,707
Andy Madrid
Hawaii Coast Realty, LLC - Kailua-Kona, HI
Expertise, Professionalism, and Service

In our area we are required to share any reports with both parties.  That being said, I always provide the report to the sellers, particularly if my buyer is going to ask for repairs.

Mar 25, 2015 05:35 AM
Rainmaker
892,390
Sussie Sutton
David Tracy Real Estate - Houston, TX
David Tracy Real Estate for Buyers & Sellers

I will only share the end report but not the entire document; and only if it is okay with the  buyer.

Mar 25, 2015 05:29 AM
Rainmaker
379,394
Jill Murty, Realtor - Orange County, CA
Sunset Properties, Powered by Movoto - Laguna Niguel, CA

By all means, share the report with the sellers particularly when asking for repairs.

Mar 25, 2015 02:54 AM
Ambassador
1,527,851
John McCormack, CRS
Albuquerque Homes Realty - Albuquerque, NM
Honesty, Integrity, Results, Experienced. HIRE Me!

I always get a report and share it with my sellers.  Nothing to hide.

Mar 25, 2015 02:53 AM
Rainmaker
4,798,711
Gabe Sanders
Real Estate of Florida specializing in Martin County Residential Homes, Condos and Land Sales - Stuart, FL
Stuart Florida Real Estate

If I were the sellers agent I would insist on seeing the report for the items that are being requested to be fixed.

Mar 25, 2015 02:19 AM
Rainmaker
342,789
Cindy Davis
SD Home Source Realty - San Diego, CA

I think sharing the report with the seller makes total sense and have been doing it for years. It enables the sellers and listing agent to understand a repair request with better perspective.

Mar 25, 2015 02:14 AM